Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Citing journal articles, magazines and newspapers (online or electronic)

A guide to citing sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago format.

Citing Journal and Magazine Articles

Print Journal Article
 
In Note
 
     3. James Griffin, "What Do Happiness Studies Study?" Journal of Happiness
Studies 8, no. 1 (March 2007): 139-148.
 
In Bibliography
 
Griffin, James. "What Do Happiness Studies Study?" Journal of Happiness
Studies 8, no. 1 (March 2007): 139-148.
 

 
Electronic Journal Article (including those from a library database)
 
In Note
 
     3. James Griffin, "What Do Happiness Studies Study?" Journal of Happiness
Studies 8, no. 1 (March 2007): 139-148, http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s10902-006-9007-4.
 
In Bibliography
 
Griffin, James. "What Do Happiness Studies Study?" Journal of Happiness
        Studies 8, no. 1 (March 2007): 139-148. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s10902-006
        -9007-4.
 
 
 
Print Magazine Article

In Note
 
     3. J. Kelly Beatty, "Double Trouble among Near-Earth Asteroids," Sky and Telescope, July 2002, 11.
 
In Bibliography
 
Beatty, J. Kelly. "Double Trouble among Near-Earth Asteroids." Sky
and Telescope, July 2002. 
 
  • Cite magazines by date only, even if there is a volume and issue number.
     
  • You should include the page numbers in a Note, but may omit them in the Bibliography.
 
Electronic Magazine Article (including those from a library database)
 
In Note
 
     3. J. Kelly Beatty, "Double Trouble among Near-Earth Asteroids," Sky and Telescope, July 2002, 11, Ebscohost.

 

In Bibliography

Beatty, J. Kelly. "Double Trouble among Near-Earth Asteroids." Sky and Telescope,
        July 2002. Ebscohost.
 
For electronic magazines you can use either the web url or the database name.
 

Citing Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Articles

 
In most cases newspapers are cited only in the Notes or Text of a paper.
 
In Note
 
     4. John Battersby, "Nelson Mandela's Moral Legacy," Christian Science Monitor, May 10, 1999, Lexis Nexis Academic.
  • For local newspapers or newspaper names which may exist in a number of cities, include the city and/or state in parentheses (but not in italics) after the newspaper:   The Gazette (Montreal)
  • For articles found in a library database, you can usually give the name of the database instead of the full url, but check with your instructor.
 
In the Text

In the Christian Science Monitor article on Nelson Mandela (May 10, 1999), John Battersby predicts Mandela's moral legacy.