Citing Sources: Citing books and e-books

 

• No author listed on your source?  Just skip it and start with the title of the article

•  Pay attention to italicized and Capitalized text.

o Books Titles (as well as journal, magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia, and database titles) should be italicized and capitalized.

o Article titles should be in “quotation marks”.

•  For correct information, such as the book title, cities, and publisher, consult the title page of the book (not the book’s cover). The copyright date is found on the next page, next to the © symbol, for example, © 2009

General format for books Author(s). Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Edition, Publisher, Year of publication.

 

Examples

Items in green indicate variations in the citation based on the format.

Book with One Author

Rowling, J. K. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Scholastic, 2002.

 

Book with Two Authors

Book with Three or More Authors

Giddens, Anthony, et al. Introduction to Sociology. W.W. Norton & Co., 2012.

 

Electronic Book (E-Book)

Reis, Christina. Careers and Talent Management: A Critical Perspective. Routledge, 2016. Routledge Focus.

             EBSCO eBooks, 0-search.ebscohost.com.library2.pima.edu/login.aspx?

            direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1124413&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

 

OER (Open Educational Resource) Book

Delancy, Craig. A Concise Introduction to Logic. OpenSUNY, 2017. Open Textbook Library,

              https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/452. 

 

Book Published in 2nd or Subsequent Edition

Tortora, Gerard J., et al. Microbiology: An Introduction. 8th ed., Benjamin / Pearson, 2004.

• Insert edition of book after the title of the book, abbreviated edition with ed.

 

Book with Editors instead of Authors, and with Edition

Kennedy, X. J., et al., editors. The Brief Bedford Reader. 9th ed., Bedford / St. Martin’s, 2006.

• An edited book is a collection of articles or chapters, often written by various authors.
• Use the example above if you are citing the book as a whole. To cite one of the articles in the book, see section below on Articles or Chapters within a Book

 

Graphic Novel / Comic Book

Miller, Frank. Sin City. The Hard Goodbye, vol. 1, Dark Horse Books, 2010.

 

Translated Book

Cervantes, Miguel de. Don Quixote. Translated by Edith Grossman, Ecco, 2003.

 

 

ARTICLES OR CHAPTERS WITHIN A BOOK

Work in an Anthology or Edited Book

Staples, Brent. “Black Men and Public Space.” The Brief Bedford Reader, edited by X. J. Kennedy, et al.,

 9th ed., Bedford / St. Martin’s, 2006, pp. 181-83.

• Include the author and title of the entry being cited.
• List the editors of the book.
• Add the page numbers of the cited piece after the publication date.

 

Work in a Volume

Proust, Marcel. Swann's Way. Translated by C. K. Scott-Moncrieff, Modern Library, 1956. Vol.1 of  In Search of Lost Time.

 

General Formats for Encyclopedias and Dictionaries ARTICLE IN A WIDELY-USED, PRINTED REFERENCE BOOK: Author(s). “Title of the Article.” Encyclopedia/Dictionary Title, Edition, Publisher, Year, Page range. ARTICLE IN A SPECIALIZED, PRINTED REFERENCE BOOK: Author(s). “Title of the Article.” Encyclopedia/Dictionary Title, edited by Editor Name(s), Edition, Publisher, Year, Page range. ARTICLE IN AN ELECTRONIC REFERENCE BOOKS (found in library databases): Author(s). “Title of the Article.” Encyclopedia/Dictionary Title, edited by Editor Name(s), Edition, Publisher, Year. Title of database, url or doi.

 

Items in green indicate variations in the citation based on the format.

 

Article in a Widely Used Encyclopedia or Dictionary

Doyle, Jeffrey Scott. “Handgun.” World Book Encyclopedia, World Book, 2007.

 

Article in a Specialized Reference Work or Anthology

Staples, Brent. “Black Men and Public Space.” The Brief Bedford Reader, edited by X. J. Kennedy, et al.,

 9th ed., Bedford / St. Martin’s, 2006, pp. 181-83.

 

Electronic Encyclopedia or Dictionary Article from a Library Database (with author)

Porter, Benjamin W. "Ur." Encyclopedia of Anthropology, edited by H. James Birx,vol. 5, Sage Reference, 2006,

      pp. 2251-53. Gale Virtual Reference Library. go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%

      7CCX3452101058&v=2.1&u=pima_main&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=3c5a6b1290dedaa2b01bec2aac9bfff3.