Skip to Main Content

Pima Community College Library Newsletter: February 2024

Library Newsletter

Banner image of Pima Community College Library Newsletter. Image includes man reading a book with bookshelves behind him.

Featured This Issue - February 2024

Upgrade your experience with our accessibility tools (image)

Many of the resources that the library provides can be adjusted to give you an optimal experience. Check out the tips below:

  • šŸŽ§šŸ“‘Libby:

Listen to digital audiobooks or read ebooks with the Libby app. Libby ebooks work with screen readers. You can also adjust text size, density, and font. Libby even has the OpenDyslexic font available. You can adjust the playback speed of Libby audiobooks and navigate the audiobook player with keyboard shortcuts. Check out Libby’s accessibility FAQ for more. 

  • šŸŽ¬Kanopy:

All films have subtitles. If you are looking for content that celebrates the diversity of human abilities and experiences, check out the  Disability Pride Month collection from July. 

  • šŸ’»Megasearch and other databases:

Many library databases from EBSCO and Gale have the option to adjust text size, listen to the content being read aloud, and change the font to OpenDyslexic (and others). 

  • Alternative formats: 

We strive to purchase audiobook or ebook formats for physical books that are used in reading and literature classes at Pima. Check if one of your required books is available in a different format using our library catalog. 

If you have any questions about implementing any of these features next time you use a library resource, feel free to chat with us online, give us a call, or visit a campus library. 

 

For more information on accessibility resources on the college level contact the office of Access & Disability Resources.


 

Celebrate Tucson Festival of Books with us! Join us in welcoming David Bowles, author of They call me Guero : a border kid's poems and many more. 

Monday March 11th, 11am-12pm at PCC's West Campus Library

Author Talks With David Bowles


 

Check out our Displays and picks for Black History Month! 

Want to learn more? Check out our Black Lives Matter Resource Guide!

Afrofuturism : a history of Black futures (Book)
Hood Feminism (Book)
Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop: the sanitation strike of 1968 (book)
The Vanishing Half (e-book)
Till (film)
Notes from a young black chef (memoir)
The nickel boys (book)
Monster: a graphic novel (book)
Such a fun age (e-book)
Hair Love (book)
Billie (Film)
Dear Justyce (Book)
A black women's history of the United States (e-book)
Between the World and Me (Book)
For Colored Girls (film)
Harriet (Film)
A burst of light (book)
Respect (film)
Selma (Film)
Take my Hand (Book)
Ballerina's Tale (Film)

Did you know the library has staff-made guides on a number of topics?

Check out any of our guides built specifically for students and staff! We have guides for research, resources, and reference.

Nursing Research Guide image

Check out our Nursing Guide!


 

Book Cover: King : a life
Book Cover: The singers talk : the greatest singers of our time discuss the one thing they're never asked about: their voices
Book Cover: Body Language
Book Cover: Land of Milk and Honey
Book Cover: The dead take the A Train
Book Cover: Rich AF : the winning money mindset that will change your life
Book Cover: The water outlaws
Book Cover: Handmade books at home : a beginner's guide to binding journals, sketchbooks, photo albums, and more
Book Cover: Mobility : a novel
Book Cover: Build the life you want : the art and science of getting happier
Book Cover: Cunk on everything : the encyclopedia Philomena
Book Cover: Complete crochet handbook
Book Cover: Woke up like this : a novel
Book Cover: How to be the love you seek : break cycles, find peace + heal your relationships
Book Cover: We must not think of ourselves : a novel
Book Cover: How to Date a Flying Mexican
Book Cover: Of time and turtles : mending the world, shell by shattered shell
Book Cover: Flores and Miss Paula : a novel

NEW BOOKS!

Don't forget the library isn't just about studying and research materials! We keep our collections current and fun!

Click on the books to see availability!

Programs, Events and Displays

Image: joing the libraries for a week of activities for worldwide climate and justice education week. April 1-5 at the Downtown, East, West, and Desert Vista libraries.


West Campus Library Happenings

Click on the images to enlarge

Image: West Campus Library's annualĀ Book Sale is BACK! April 3rd - 5th!

West Campus Library's annual Book Sale is BACK! April 3rd - 5th!

And this time around we are doing a DOLLAR SALE - everything is just 1 dollar! 

 

Image: West Campus Library Construction coming Spring Break

New carpet coming soon! Be on the look out for changes at the West Campus Library. 

Library will be closed March 15th through the 25th. 

 

Come check out the Libraries many displays!

Click on the images to enlarge

Image: West Campus library new year book display

West Campus Library New Year display

Image: West Campus library Rodeo book display

West Campus Library Rodeo display

Image: Northwest Library Black History Month book display

Northwest Library Black History Month display

Image: Northwest Library Valentines Day book display

Northwest Library Valentines Day display 

Image: Northwest Library Lunar new year book display

Northwest Library Lunar New Year display 

Image: East Campus Library Valentines day book display

East Campus Library Valentines Day display

Image: East campus library rodeo book display

East Campus Library Rodeo display 

Image: East campus library black history month book display

East Campus Library Black History Month display

Image: Desert Vista Library valentines day book display

Desert Vista Library Valentines Day display

Image: Desert Vista Library Black History Month Display

Desert Vista Library Black History Month display

Image: Downtown Campus Library Black history Month book display

Downtown Campus Library Black History Month display

Downtown Campus Library Black History Month Display (image)

Downtown Campus Library Black History Month display 


East Campus Makerspace Events

Click images to enlarge flyers

MORE INFORMATION COMING SOON

 


Desert Vista Campus Library Happenings

Click on the images to enlarge

Free Coffee in the DV Library. Tuesdays and Thursdays 9am to 12pm, while supplies last.

Join Desert Vista Library for FREE coffee Tuesday and Thursdays while supplies last!


 

Image: who's your librarian?

Need a librarian? Check your D2L!

Librarians have been embedded in over 400 classes and are there to help you! 


 

Contact Us

 

Bottom Banner image of Pima Community College Library Newsletter Desert Vista Library 520-206-5095 Downtown Campus Library 520-206-7267 East Campus Library 520-206-7693 Northwest Campus Library 520-206-2250 West Campus Library 520-206-6821 www.pima.edu/library

 


 

 

Social Media Banner Links