Myth Reference Sites
Encyclopedic websites with entries about gods, goddesses, heroes, monsters, and other mythological subjects.
- Encyclopedia Mythica"An online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends." Features annotated links to related resources.
- Godchecker-Your Guide to the GodsIt attempts "to cover all Gods of mythology, literature and legend" as well as pagan figures. Information on over 3,500 deities is browsable by pantheon/culture or searchable.
- Theoi Project"...comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods, spirits, fabulous creatures and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion."
- Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and FableBrewer is the first place to look for the meaning and origin of phrase and fable.
- Ancient Egyptian Gods GalleryThis site, from the BBC, highlights 12 of the major Egyptian gods and goddesses, with images and an explanation.
- Celtic MythologyAncient Irish history and legends have come down to us through history thanks to the diligent chronicling of the early Christian monks.
Mythology Sources
Excellent websites to find the original sources for myths.
- The Aeneid of VergilRead on screen or download a substantial part of one of the 12 books.
- Apollodorus, The LibraryProvides basic information about the various gods, goddesses, and heroes of Greek mythology.
- Bulfinch's Mythology"Bulfinch's Mythology is a collection of the works of Thomas Bulfinch, renamed after him and published after his death. It is a classic work of mythology and is still being printed, even 150 years after the first work, Age of Fable, was published in 1855." (Wikipedia)
- Classical Myth: The Ancient SourcesLinks to "ancient texts and images available on the Web concerning the major figures of Greek and Roman mythology."
- Epic of GilgameshPerhaps the oldest written story on Earth, this epic comes from Ancient Sumeria and was originally written on 12 clay tablets in cunieform script. It is about the adventures of the historical King of Uruk (somewhere between 2750 and 2500 BCE).
- Folklore and Mythology: Electronic TextsAn extensive collection of tales from around the world. The alphabetical listing is by author, country of origin, and categories (such as frog kings, nightmares, werewolf and witchcraft legends).
- Hesiod, The TheogonyThis work includes the Greek "creation" mythology, including the beginnings of the rule of the Olympians.
- Homeric HymnsHomer's short praise songs to the various Greek divinities.
- The Iliad by HomerRead on screen or download this English translation of the classic tale about the Trojan War.
- Indian "Why" StoriesTwenty-two stories, transcribed by Frank B. Linderman in his 1915 book of the same title.
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveThis site consists of "significant primary texts relating to religion and mythology."
- Norse Stories Retold from the EddasMyths from the Nordic lands, retold by Hamilton Wright Mabie in his 1901 book
- Oedipus the KingWritten by the Greek playwright Sophocles (5th c. BCE)
- The Odyssey by HomerRead on screen or download this English translation of the story of the wanderings of Odysseus
Maps
- Map of the WanderingsThis map shows the wanderings of Odysseus after the Trojan War.
- Aeneid Travel RoutesThis map shows the wanderings of Aeneas.
- Norse MythologyUniversity of Michigan site provides maps, pictures, and a family tree about Norse mythology
Mythic Images
- World Myths and Legends in ArtThis collection of images brings together 26 works of art in the collection of The Minneapolis Institute of Arts inspired by mythology around the world
- Publications for EducatorsThe Metropolitan Museum of Art offers FREE downloadable PDF guides on the Art of Ancient Egypt, the Art of the Ancient Near East, Classical Greek Art, and more!
- Native American MythologyThis site, from the Minneapolis Institute of Arts, gives an example of an artistic work from each of 4 different Native American cultures and explains the story behind the mythological elements in the works.