Research Guides: Open Educational Resources Subject Guide: Find Images, Repositories &amp; Ancillary Materials

Creative Commons, Public Domain & CCO Images

AllGo
Free plus-size stock photos available for all uses.
Blush Design
Diverse library of customizable graphics of individual people and groups of people licensed under CCO.
Creative Commons Image Search
Public Domain or CC images from museums, repositories, Flickr and more.
Open Source - Diverse Groups of People
Find images with CC license with diverse groups of people. List of sources from OE Global Connect.
Openverse
An extensive library of 700 million stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use.
Pexels
Free inclusive stock photos and videos.
Pharmacy Pictures
The internet’s source of freely-usable images. CC images and provide attribution.
PICRYL
public domain search & similarity engine: find millions of public domain files from hundreds of sources: all in one place.
Pixabay
Free, shareable, copyright-free images.
Pxfuel
Free stock images. Attribution appreciated, but not required.
Wellcome Collection
A free museum and library with over 700,000 pieces of art in the public domain.
Wikimedia Commons
Freely usable images released under Creative Commons licenses.

Low Cost Repositories

Low cost textbook alternatives. Please note that low-cost textbooks are not OER and often contain copyrighted material.

OER Repositories - Textbooks, Activities, Labs & More

Applied Math and Science Education Repository
"AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout."
Curriki
Curriki offers over 56,000 educational materials for free from around the world. Their mission is to provide learning materials freely available to educators, students, and parents around the world.
Hippocampus
"HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects." Designed to provide access to quality education.
Humanities Commons
Modern Language Association Hub for open-access humanities scholarship, teaching materials, and more.
InTech Open Science Open Minds
InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
MERLOT II
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching brought to you by California State University. MERLOT II provides free textbooks and other materials for education.
Michigan College Online | OER Commons
The MCO created the Michigan Colleges Online Hub for our member institutions as a way to reduce costs for students, increase student success and completion, and allow for inter-institutional collaboration with faculty. Our Institutions are creating, sharing, and collaborating on high-quality OER for use in today's classrooms.
MIT Open Courseware
Offering over 2260 course materials free. MIT's goal is to "publish all course materials online and make them widely available to everyone."
OER Commons
Supported in part by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, ISKME, the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education, created OER Commons as part of the Foundation’s worldwide OER initiative.
Open Consortium Educaton
Free and open collection of high-quality learning materials presented in the form of courses.
Open Course Library
Created by Washington Community and Technical College. Open course library with creative commons license. Free to use.
Open Educational Resources
Library contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. To reuse these educational materials, see author's license information.
Open Michigan
From the University of Michigan, access a range of course materials, videos, software tools, student work and more. Free to use.
OpenOregon Educational Resources
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college students and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
OpenStax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Provided by Rice University and supported by many education foundations. OpenStax provides quality free textbooks to meet your course needs.
The Orange Grove
Florida's digital repository offering free resources for education.
Skills Commons
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons, a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation.

Interactive Materials

PhET: Free Online Physics, chemistry, biology, earth science and mathematics
From the University of Colorado Boulder, this site provides over 275 million interactive simulations for math and science.
OPEN Pediatrics
Simulators for health professionals.

OER Search Engine

The Mason OER Metafinder.
From George Mason University. Mason OER Metafinder simultaneously searches across the obvious OER repositories (e.g., MERLOT II, OAOpen.org, OER Commons, OpenStax CNX, etc.) but also sites like HathiTrust (full-view materials only), DPLA, OERs at Internet Archive, and Project Gutenberg.

YouTube Block Checker

Did you know that some YouTube clips are only available in certain geographic locations, but blocked in others? How can you know? Here's a nifty tool to check a YouTube URL for any geographical restrictions:

https://watannetwork.com/tools/blocked/

Try these URLs in the watannetwork link above:

You can see that they are blocked in the red areas of the map.