Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources Subject Guide: Reading

Textbooks

 

Developmental Reading
Full text: http://courses.candelalearning.com/developmentalreading/

English Composition I
Full text: http://courses.candelalearning.com/englishcomp1v2xmaster/

Basic Reading and Writing
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/basicreadingandwriting/

BC Reads - Updates to the resources listed below (updated 11/17)
https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/?start=0&subject=Academic/Basic%20Upgrading&contributor=Academic/Basic%20Upgrading&searchTerm=&keyword=

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 1
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader1/
BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 1
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealf1/

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 2
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader2/ https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader2/BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 2
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealf2/

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 3
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader3/ https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader3/BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 3
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealf3/

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 4
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader4/ https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader4/BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 4
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealf4/

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 5
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader5/
BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 5
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealf5/

BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 6
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader6/ https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader6/BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 6
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/abealfreader6/

In the Community: An Intermediate Integrated Skills Textbook
Full Text: https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/?uuid=3988a71f-654e-4c7c-b662-1bd7fe4ffffe&contributor=&keyword=&subject=English%20Language%20Learning

In the Workplace: An Intermediate Integrated Skills Textbook
Full Text: https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/?uuid=c071db23-acd5-4242-adcc-33b687b33b96&contributor=&keyword=&subject=

A Writer's Guide to Mindful Reading
https://wac.colostate.edu/books/mindful/