Research Guides: Open Educational Resources Subject Guide: Critical Care

Textbooks

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care - Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting.
Complete Subjective Health Assessment - From Open Library
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions - Author: Sherri Melrose PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Caroline Park PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Beth Perry PhD, RN, Athabasca University
Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children - This publication of the second edition of Critical Care Nursing of Infants and Children is another important milestone in the evolving development of pediatric critical care nursing. 2001
Disease Prevention and Healthy Lifestyles - From Lumen Learning
Health Case Studies - From Open Textbook Library
Health Education Course, Chapter 1 - PART 1: SERVING CHILDREN'S HEALTH - Health Education Course by: Virgil Bourassa and Fred Mednick
InTech Open Science Open Minds - InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
National Academies Press - Many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know - Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know by Susan E. Lowey
OPEN RN - Open Education Resources for Nursing is a project led by Chippewa Valley Technical College

The Open RN project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create 5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.
OPEN RN: Nursing Pharmacology - From OPEN RN 2020
Open Textbooks -From Skills Commons
Skills Commons - Limited to sterile processing
Undergraduate Diagnostic Imaging Fundamentals - Brent Burbridge, MD, FRCPC from University of Saskatchewan

Couirse Resources

MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL Publications is a free publication service provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges in partnership with the American Dental Education Association.
Medical | Open.Michigan
The mission of the U-M Medical School is to educate students, physicians, and biomedical scholars and to provide a spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality to the people of the State of Michigan and beyond.
MERLOT Health Sciences Portal
Welcome to the MERLOT Health Sciences Portal, an educational resource for teaching and learning. This site includes over 40 different subjects including dentistry, nursing, nutrition, pharmacy and radiology.
MERLOT Health Sciences Search page
Start searching for health sciences at this page.
Nursing Open
Locate free information for nursing including activities, audio, video, free course, course, and community.
Nursing Resources Open Michigan
Lead by the University of Michigan's School of Nursing.
Open Educational Resources for Nursing Education
GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide.
Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe)
The Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe) is free collection of expert-contributed geriatrics educational materials for educators and learners. POGOe's mission is to encourage the free exchange of teaching and assessment materials in order to promote geriatrics education in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. You will find teaching tools, images, videos, a question bank, and much more.
Skills Commons Material Type
From Skills Commons

Open Journals

MedEdPORTAL
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions.

Videos

MedlinePlus
Health videos made available to you by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
TEDMED videos
Provides video presentations from 2009 to the present about health and medicine.
Radiation Emergency medical Management - REEM
Video Library

Interactive Resources

MedlinePlus Interactive Health Games
Provided by MedlinePlus, "boost your health knowledge by playing with the 35 interactive health games."
Health Check Tools: MedlinePlus
From MedlinePlus.
"Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more."
Nursing - Wisc-Online OER
Interactive tutorials in the area of nursing. You will find 25 free learning objects that can help you learn, study, or teach Nursing.

Images

Free images of global women
A free library of images celebrating women’s lives and their work in 11 countries around the world
Gender Spectrum Collection
Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of
trans and non-binary models.
HEAL Health Education Assets Library
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library. You can search the entire collection or search by specific collection.
Images, Videos, and More
NIGMS offers scientific images and videos, plus scientist interviews, profiles and photos.
Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
From the US National Library of Medicine
Open Oregon Image list
From Open Oregon
Open Peeps
Free for commercial and personal use under CC0 License.
Pharmacy Pictures
The internet’s source of freely-usable images. CC images and provide attribution.
Plus Size Images
Free plus size images.