Begin your research by finding sources with general background information on your topic. Sources that compile background information are known as tertiary sources. Tertiary sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. There are also databases and government websites that provide great background information.
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control and PreventionUse the A to Z Index to explore a variety of health and disease topics. The index includes common and scientific names.
- National Institutes of HealthUse the Health Information page to find in-depth definitions, U.S. disease statistics, and strategies for dealing with medical conditions.
- Medline PlusUse the Medical Encyclopedia to find definitions about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. You can also use Medline to find drug and supplement information, and information about different medical tests and what they are used for.
- Gale eBooks, MedicineUse this database to find encyclopedias on health and medical topics.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints Health & Medicine TopicsUse this database for finding opposing viewpoints on current health topics.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find overviews of multiple health and medicine related topics including diseases, drugs, community health, mental health, tests, treatments, and surgeries.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Use this eBook to find more in-depth information about specific diseases, disorders, techniques, and medical equipment.
