Image Resources from PCC Guide
For a more comprehensive set of options for finding images, please check out this special research guide.
Citations for Images and Media
- Make sure that you use the appropriate citation style to cite any images and media (Youtube videos, streaming videos from a library database, etc.).
- The PCC Library's databases has citation options for some of the most common citation styles (MLA and APA).
- If accessing images and media outside of Library databases, there are free citation generators available on the Internet that can help. (Make sure to double check the format using the Write & Cite tab above or consult a librarian.)
Image Quest
The best education images all in one place
Access approximately three million rights-cleared images from the best collections in the world
- Image Quest This link opens in a new windowOver 2.5 million copyright-cleared images for educational use at Pima Community College
ArtSTOR Image Database
ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The collections contain contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. NOTE: You will need to register with ArtSTOR if you wish to download images or create image groups.
ArtSTOR Digital Library
2020 ARTstor: Registering for ARTstor (Tutorial)
Curated Image Databases on the Web
Europeana Digital Image Collection
- 14.6 million digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections
- Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
- Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
- Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
- Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
Image Collections
Search tips...
- If you search from Google's homepage, click on "Images" located at the upper left
- Enter your word (no quotes needed) or search term (more than one word, quotes needed). Example: "gothic art"
- Remember that not all of your results will necessarily be pertinent
- Cite any images you use in assignments!
Open-access Image Sites
Films on Demand
Films on Demand offers streaming videos on a variety of topics. When accessing the videos from off campus, you will be asked to input you MyPima username and password.
Kanopy
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOnline videos and documentaries. Click on the link provided, then click on the dropdown arrow next to "Browse" to see a list of subject areas.
