Article & Trends Databases
-
ABI/INFORM Dateline (now part of ProQuest One Business) This link opens in a new window
Trade and scholarly articles.
*Note: This access point will be removed in January.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.
-
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowReference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
-
Image Quest This link opens in a new windowOver 2.5 million copyright-cleared images for educational use at Pima Community College
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also includes Artstor’s collection of high-quality images from leading museums, archives, and artists around the world.
-
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowAmerican history and popular culture, including fads and entertainment.
-
ProQuest Computing This link opens in a new window
Computer Science Database includes publications focused on computing and information systems, computer security, database design, software development, and web commerce. Includes full-text peer reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and trade journals.
Game Design
-
The Art of Game Characters
by
Call Number: T385 .H34721 2005ISBN: 0060724315Publication Date: 2005 -
The Art of Game Design
by
Call Number: QA76.76.C672 S34 2015ISBN: 9781466598645Publication Date: 2015 -
-
-
D'Artiste - Character Design
by
Call Number: N7433.8 .C437 2011ISBN: 9781921002915Publication Date: 2011 -
Drawing Basics and Video Game Art
by
Call Number: QA76.76.C672 S65 2012ISBN: 9780823098477Publication Date: 2012-09-18 -
-
-
Game Design: How to Create Video and Tabletop Games, Start to Finish
by
Call Number: GV1469.3 .P95 2012ISBN: 9780786469529Publication Date: 2012 -
How to Create Fantasy Art for Video Games
by
Call Number: GV1469.3 .S86 2010ISBN: 9780764145049Publication Date: 2010 -
How to Draw and Paint Fantasy Architecture
by
Call Number: N8217.F28 A45 2011ISBN: 9780764145353Publication Date: 2010 -
How to Draw and Paint Fantasy Combat
by
Call Number: NC825.F25 S74 2014ISBN: 9781438003467Publication Date: 2014 -
-
Making Great Games
by
Call Number: GV1469.34.A97 W96 2011ISBN: 9780240812854Publication Date: 2010 -
Prime: The Definitive Digital Art Collection - Cartoons, Characters, Fantasy, Scenes, Sci-Fi
Call Number: N7433.8 .P684 2012ISBN: 0956817149Publication Date: 2012 -
The Principles of Creature Design
by
Call Number: NC780 .W44 2015ISBN: 1624650287Publication Date: 2015 -
Push > Start: The Art of Video Games
by
Call Number: N7433.8 .P87 2014ISBN: 9783943573091Publication Date: 2014 -
Spectrum: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art
Call Number: N8217.F28 S632Publication Date: Annual
Browsing for Print Books by Subject Area
A Brief History of Video Games (Part I) - Safwat Saleem
Periodicals
-
Game Informer Magazine: For Video Game Enthusiasts
Call Number: West Campus PeriodicalsPublication Date: Monthly -
Videos
-
Video Game: Past, Present & Future From Pong and Donkey Kong to Final Fantasy and Tomb Raider, this program traces the remarkable history of video games by studying the companies, technologies, and economics that are fueling the industry in Japan, the U.S., and France. It also seeks to understand the driving force behind the video game’s phenomenal cultural penetration while offering insights into the rigorous development and aggressive multichannel marketing of games and game consoles. The inevitable convergence of the video game and film industries and the impact of the Internet as a global gaming environment are also considered. (51 minutes)
Articles
Wall St. Cheat Sheet: 7 Cardinal Sins of Video Game Design. Chatham: Newstex, 2015. ProQuest. Web. 11 Feb. 2016.