Research Guides: Digital Arts: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Consider the following five criteria:

1. Accuracy - Is the information correct?

2. Authority - What are the author's credentials?

3. Coverage - Is the content covered comprehensively?

4. Currency - Is the information current?

5. Purpose - Is the content biased?

If you're not certain, ask a librarian!

Professional Organizations & Agencies

AIGA - Professional Association for Design
more...less...
AIGA, the professional association for design, stimulates thinking about design, demonstrates the value of design and empowers the success of designers at each stage of their careers. AIGA’s mission is to advance designing as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force. Founded in 1914, AIGA remains the oldest and largest professional membership organization for design, and is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) educational institution.
Entertainment Software Association
more...less...
General information about the video game industry.
Graphic Artists Guild
more...less...
For graphic designers, web designers, digital artists, illustrators, cartoonists, animators, art directors, surface designers, and various combinations of these disciplines.
See: https://www.graphicartistsguild.org/theguild/what-the-guild-is/

Design Museums

Bauhaus Archive & Museum, Berlin
Cooper Hewitt Museum, NYC Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum. Cooper Hewitt is the only museum in the United States devoted exclusively to historical and contemporary design, and is the steward of one of the most diverse and comprehensive design collections in existence—more than 210,000 design objects spanning 30 centuries. From ancient textiles and works on paper to icons of modern design and cutting-edge technologies, Cooper Hewitt’s collection serves as inspiration for creative work of all kinds and tells the story of design’s paramount importance in improving our world.
Design Museum, Denmark
Design Museum, London The museum offers an introduction to the history of contemporary design.
Design Museum Holon (Holon, Israel) Design Museum Holon opened in March 2010 and quickly established itself as one of the world's leading museums of design and contemporary culture.
Moderna Museet (Stockholm, Sweden) The Collection covers paintings, sculptures, installations, films, videos, drawings and prints by Swedish and international artists from the 20th and 21st centuries, and photography from the 1840s until today. / The Moderna Museet collection now comprises some 6,000 paintings, sculptures and installations, 25,000 watercolours, drawings and prints, 400 art videos and films, and 100,000 photographs.
Moravska Gallery, Czech Republic The Moravian Gallery is the second largest art museum in the Czech Republic, and is host to the International Graphic Design Biennale, Brno. It also has a collection of art for the blind.
Museum of Art & Design ( The mission of the Museum of Arts and Design (MAD) is to collect, display, and interpret objects that document contemporary and historic innovation in craft, art, and design. In its exhibitions and educational programs, the Museum celebrates the creative process through which materials are crafted into works that enhance contemporary life.
Museum of Craft and Design (San Francisco, USA) The museum’s distinct purpose is to invite creativity in young and old, for design and crafts in all mediums.
Museum of Decorative Arts (Prague, Czech Republic) The Museum of Decorative Arts has posters and typography from both the Czech Republic and around the world, exploring the design behind the everyday.
Powerhouse Museum (Sydney, Australia) We are Australia’s contemporary museum for excellence and innovation in applied arts and sciences. Our venues include Powerhouse Museum, Sydney Observatory and Museums Discovery Centre. We are uniquely placed to demonstrate how technology, engineering, science and design impact Australia and the world.
Red Dot Design Museum, Singapore "Red Dot designs strives to promote good design for business on an international scale. They hold an annual competition for the best in a series of design categories, and showcase the cutting edge in corporate design." (From 99designs.com)
Trienalle di Milano (Milan, Italy) Italy's foremost institution for design and contemporary culture since 1923.
Victoria & Albert Museum The V&A – Museum of art, design and performance
Vitra Design Museum, Germany The Vitra Design Museum numbers among the world's leading museums of design. It is dedicated to the research and presentation of design, past and present, and examines design's relationship to architecture, art and everyday culture.

Design Websites & E-zines

Use the "Feedback" tab to suggest links to add!

AIGA Web Journal
designboom
more...less...
"designboom" is the leading independent publication for key contemporary issues and critique of all aspects of art, architecture and design, especially those topics which enrich the dialogue between creative professionals, industry and society. The milan-based, free internet resource offers photo reports from major international design shows, architecture and art exhibitions; interviews and portraits of the protagonists in
the contemporary creative scene; design history and in-depth information on the creators of design classics.
MoCo Loco
more...less...
MoCo Loco is a web magazine dedicated to everything related to modern contemporary design including; furniture, accessories, lighting, floorcoverings, wallcoverings, books, websites, audio-video and more. Our design-savvy audience stops by frequently to check out the latest news, reviews and recommendations for products and services.
NYPL Digital Library
more...less...
"Some of the images in the Digital Gallery may be subject to third party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity. Before using any of these images please review the Library's Terms and Conditions. The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."