Digital Arts: Find Articles

Advertising & commercial art.

Covers all aspects of the animation industry.

The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical. In its mission as a journal of record, The Art Bulletin fosters an intensive engagement with intellectual developments and debates in contemporary art-historical practice.

Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.

A fully illustrated fine arts journal designed for collectors, artists, dealers, art professionals and other interested consumers who long for the latest news in the art world. This magazine has extensive coverage and criticism of painting, sculpture and photography. This magazine also includes profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and events schedules.

Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.

The UK’s leading magazine of contemporary visual art. Published ten times a year, it keeps you in touch with today’s fast-moving art world through in-depth features, interviews with leading lights, profiles on rising stars and up-to-the-minute coverage of trends from independent critics. In addition to the extensive reviews section covering exhibitions and books, Art Monthly is the only magazine with regular columns on artists’ books and multiples, new media, auction activity and legal issues. It is the first with news and views.

Art, Design and Communication in Higher Education (The Journal of the Higher Education Academy Subject Centre for Art, Design, Media) is a refereed journal that aims to inform, stimulate and promote the development of research with a learning and teaching focus for art, design and communication within higher education.

Reaches AutoCAD users working in design/engineering/research, data/CAD management & corporate/senior management positions. Covers product purchasing, technical & productivity information that meets the needs of Autodesk technology purchasers & users. Subjects: Computer Science; High Tech; Industrial & Mechanical Design (including CAD & CAM).

Articles, review articles and commentary on various aspects of computer graphic modeling and creation. The leading magazine devoted to the broad spectrum of computer graphics technology. Subjects: Arts; Computer Science; Graphic Arts; High Tech; Computers & Data Processing.

Provides in-depth technical articles on computer graphics. Features a mix of original research, computer graphics applications, conference reports, surveys and workshops. Subjects: Arts; Computer Science; High Tech.

Advertising & commercial art.

Aimed at educators and deals with the role of the arts in education and curriculum development.

Articles about the criticism, history and theory as they relate to the professions of design.

Design Week is exclusively written for design industry professionals (& all those that commission them). Every commercial design discipline is represented from graphic design and interiors to product design.

Display & Design Ideas is edited to help retailers maximize sales through effective store design and visual presentation. The magazine focuses on design strategies, new products and global trends and shares success stories across all retail sectors by communicating the value of successful store design among top retail executives. Store planners, visual merchandisers, store designers, independent architects and contact designers working with high-volume retail
chains, and top designers, planners and architects designing retail sites for consumer-products manufacturers depend on coverage in DDI for cutting-edge technology and product application for store design. Special issues include the January Buyers' Guide, July's Fixture Leaders, September's book of Lists and November's Annual DDI/NASFM Retail Interiors Forecast.

Entertainment Design is the leading international magazine for the business of entertainment technology and design. Entertainment Design targets lighting, sound, production designers and costume and makeup professionals working in theatre, film, television, clubs, concerts, theme parks and industrial projects.

"English-language scholarly publication devoted to the study of European-language graphic novels, comic strips, comic books and caricature... The journal will emphasize coverage of work from across Europe, including Eastern Europe."

Provides tutorial coverage of subjects, research retrospectives as well as survey papers that offer state-of-the-art reviews in computer graphics. Covers: Graphic Arts; Information Technology; Computers & Data Processing.

Feature articles, business profiles, interviews, product reviews and news of note for managers in the printing industry. Subjects: Arts; Computer Science; Graphic Arts; High Tech; Industry & Manufacturing; Computers & Data Processing.

International journal of visual communication.

Commercial art & graphic design techniques.

Graphic design & communication in design.

The International Journal of Art & Design Education provides an international forum for the dissemination of ideas, practical developments, and research findings in art and design education. The Journal is a primary source for independently refereed articles about art and design education at all levels.

Emphasizes efficient & effective image & graphics technologies & systems, & provides a central forum for scientists, researchers, engineers & vendors. Subjects: Computer graphics, image processing,

Aimed at creating a suitable environment for exchanging research results obtained in advanced theories & techniques devised for handling the shape of objects, pointing out the three main aspects of modeling: disciplines, roles, and applications. Subjects: Computer Science; Engineering; High Tech; Mathematics.

Covers the social and cultural values which inform art and design education, offers illustrated case studies and analyzes and exemplifies specific art, craft and design practices in all sectors of education.

A professional journal for working artists to write about their own work. By the International Society for the Arts, Sciences, and Technology.

Live Design is the must-read creative and technical journal for live entertainment professionals in lighting, sound, staging, and projection. Each issue provides designers, programmers, and technicians with tips and trends, news and reviews of the latest gear, reports from the field, and industry viewpoint and commentary. From concerts to theatre, houses of worship to clubs, theme parks to corporate events, Live Design is your one stop resource for live event production technology.

The Oxford Art Journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. It is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives, and has carried work addressing themes from Antiquity to contemporary art practice. In addition, it carries extended reviews of major contributions to the field.

Step-by-step graphics. Subjects: Graphic arts, graphic design, advertising, etc.

Afterimage has been an important voice in the photography, film, video and visual book community. Along with feature articles, books and exhibition reviews, essays and news, every issue of Afterimage also includes over 300 free notices for jobs, call-for-work, exhibitions and screenings.

Art Calendar is the industry’s foremost business magazine for visual artists on their journey toward making a living with their art. Written by knowledgeable industry pros and successful working artists, Art Calendar offers artists practical business advice on subjects such as art marketing, art law, portfolio development, exhibition presentation, communication skills and sales techniques, as well as advanced technical applications of photography, computer and Web tools. It also offers the most extensive and recent listings of Calls to Artists, including galleries reviewing portfolios, juried competitions, grants, fellowships, festivals, publishing opportunities and residencies.

A fully illustrated fine arts journal designed for collectors, artists, dealers, art professionals and other interested consumers who long for the latest news in the art world. This magazine has extensive coverage and criticism of painting, sculpture and photography. This magazine also includes profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and events schedules.

American art news. Balanced reporting on contemporary art with coverage of modern and old masters, profiles of notable collectors, museum directors and scholars; travel itineraries filled with art appreciation; inside views of the art market; and reports from the world of design.

Subjects: Contemporary art, cinema, and popular culture.

Commercial art periodical.

CGW explores how leading-edge graphics techniques, including 3D modeling, animation and visualization are used in such applications as CAD/CAM/CAE, architecture, scientific visualization, special effects, digital video, film, and interactive entertainment.

Your connection to the printing and graphic arts industry.

I.D. Magazine is America’s leading critical magazine covering the art, business, and culture of design. Winner of five National Magazine Awards, the publication appears seven times a year. Issues include the Annual Design Review (America’s oldest and most prestigious juried design-recognition program) as well as the I.D. 40, and Design + Business.

Print is a bimonthly magazine about visual culture and design dedicated to showcasing the extraordinary in design on and off the page. Covering a field as broad as communication itself—publication and book design, animation and motion graphics, corporate branding and rock posters, exhibitions and street art—Print covers commercial, social, and environmental design from every angle. Engagingly written by cultural reporters and critics who look at design in its social, political, and historical contexts, Print explores why our world looks the way it looks, and why the way it looks matters.

Subjects: Fashion, architecture, and design.