Why Articles?
Articles come from a variety of sources including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.
Articles are useful because...
- They are current.
- They cover very specific aspects of a particular topic.
- Articles from scholarly journals provide current research for very specific topics, and are peer-reviewed.
Can you spot the NOT-Scholarly Journal?
 |
 |
 |
Some of the hallmarks of a scholarly journal are:
|
Top Article Databases
You can use article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals.
IMPORTANT: When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.
IMPORTANT TIPS FOR USING DATABASES:
Features: You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Limiters: After your initial search, you may be able to limit your results by topc by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS or SOURCE TYPES (such as Academic Journals, Newspapers, etc.)
Cite: Many of the library databases include APA citations. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the citation into your Works Cited page. (Use the Citing Sources tab above to help you to make sure they are correct.)
- SocIndex This link opens in a new window
Includes histories of social movements from a sociological perspective.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of scholarly articles and more.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles and some book chapters on education at all levels.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject area
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowMostly scholarly articles.