Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Prepare Now for Your Future in Fashion!
It's never too early to prepare for your career in fashion! Get a head start before joining Pima Community College's Fashion Design & Clothing Certificate program by exploring the fun links and exercises below!
Style - Fashion Shows
To do: Click on "Fashion Shows." From the drop-down menu, select either the couture or the ready-to-wear collections. Next, choose a designer name and view the slide show of the designer's latest collection. Answer the following questions:
1) Do you like the designs? Why or why not?
2) Would you change or improve the designs in any way? (Fabrics, prints or color palettes, silhouette, accessories?)
3) Choose another designer until you find another collection you love. What do you love about it?
4) What's the designer's name? Always remember the names and some general information about each your favorite fashion designers.
5) Continue looking at differnent designers collections until you've found at least five that are working in a style that you admire and may want to emulate. Always remember the names and some general information about each your favorite fashion designers!
Style - Fashion Videos by Season
1) Select the video of your favorite designer, or a designer you've never heard of.
2) Watch their latest fashion show video.
3) Try to briefly describe the the music, the models, the way the models walk, the catwalk and stage setting, the hair, makeup and the accessories.
4) What do you like about the way the clothing was presented? What would you have changed and why?
Style - Designer Directory
1) Select from the list the name of a designer whose work you admire.
2) Read about the designer's life and design philosophy.
4) From the same page, look at images from designer's newest, and older, collections. Do you still love the styles the designer creates? If so, you may have found a clue to your own developing style as a designer! If not, go back and choose another designer until you find one whose work you love season after season.
5) Each season, keep an eye on your favorite designers' collections. Always ask yourself, what about each collection might influence your own work when you're a fashion designer.
1) Find a fashionista friend, and select any link from the Vogue Daily website.
2) From whichever link you select, review the images and information on the page. What's the purpose of the page? (Is it trying to advertise a product, or to inform readers?)
3) It takes many people in many different fashion-related careers to bring fashion images and fashion information to you. Race with your fashionista friend: Which of you can guess more fashion careers that contributed to creating every element on that web page? (Example, fashion designer, seamstress, patternmaker, graphic artists, fashion illustrator, fashion editor, stylist, photographer, etc.)
Style - Trend Reports
1) Watch one of the latest trend reports.
2) Which of the trends do you think could be incorporated into a teen wardrobe?
3) Which of the trends could you incorporate into your wardrobe without having to spend any, or very much, money?
1) First, complete the "To Do" from the "Style-Trend Reports" website (above)
2) On the Teen Vogue website, click "Fashion" and then the current season's "Trends."
2) Review the current teen trends.
3) Compare the trends reported on the Teen Vogue website and the general fashion trends you explored on the Style-Trends website? Are there any similarities? Any differences?
California Apparel News
1) Click on the "Classifieds" button (left margin)
2) Click on "Jobs Available - View Jobs Here"
3) There will be several pages of job offerings. Read about the qualifications for as many jobs as you can. (Even if you aren't interersted in the job yourself, you'll want to start knowing about the kinds of jobs available in the fashion industry.)
4) Find a job that you'd like to have.
5) Print off or write down the job title and related qualifications. Now you know what sorts of classes you'll need to take in college!
6) Determine if there are any classes you can take in high school that will help prepare you for college. (For example, learning to sew well in high school will make fashion design school a LOT easier - leaving you more time to work on advanced sewing techniques and sharpening your creativity, while all of your classmates are still learning how to thread their machines!)
Blog: A "web log." An informational website that issues brief, regular posts (daily, weekly) that are usually centered around one topic, such as fashion. Private individuals use blogs to express their thoughts or share images, videos, or information of possible interest to readers. (For example, a photographer might take daily images of people s/he encounters who have a unique fashion sense and style. Companies may maintain blogs to share updates on their business or issues related to their business. For example, a trend forecasting agency might issue daily blog posts on recently spotted new styles that may become a future fashion trend.)