Print Reference Books
A variety of print reference books is available at the library.
A Pictorial History of Costume From Ancient Times to the Nineteenth Century: With Over 1900 Illustrated Costumes by Call Number: GT513 .B763 1973 (West Reference)
Dictionary of Fashion HistoryCall Number: GT730 .C86 2010 (West Reference)
Encyclopedia of World Dress and FashionCall Number: GT507 .E54 2010 (West Reference) v. 1-10
Fashion BookCall Number: TT503 .F37 1998 (West Reference)
Fashion: A History from the 18th to the 20th Century by Call Number: GT580 .F35 2006 (West Reference)
For Appearance' Sake: The Historical Encyclopedia of Good Looks, Beauty & Grooming by Call Number: GT499 .S49 2001 (West Reference)
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by Call Number: GT507 .G74 2008 (West Reference)
Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Call Number: GT510 .R3313 1988 (West Reference)
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion & Fashion DesignersCall Number: GT507 .O53 2008 (West Reference)
Vogue Fashion: Over 100 Years of Style by Decade & Designer by Call Number: GT596 .W38 2008 (West Reference)
What People Wore When : A Complete Illustrated History of Costume from Ancient Times to the Nineteenth Century for Every Level of Society by Call Number: GT511 .L474 2008 (West Reference)
Catalog Subject Headings (Books by Topic)
Click on the links below to search these topics in the catalog.
Costume design -- History -- Dictionaries
Fashion -- History -- 20th century
E-Reference Resources
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowA unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to this database will no longer be supported as of June 30, 2025. We encourage you to contact your liaison librarian to discuss alternative resources available.
World history before 1450 A.D.
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowReference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Websites
Museum & Library Collections
Arizona Costume Institute / Phoenix Art Museum
Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising (FIDM) - Museum & Galleries
June F. Mohler Fashion Library (Kent State University)
Kent State University Museum Visual Dictionary of Fashion (Bissonnette on Costume)
Kyoto Costume Institute - Digital Archive
Los Angeles County Museum of Art - Costume & Textiles Department
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - The Costume Institute
Philadelphia Museum of Art - Costume & Textiles Department
Smithsonian / Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum - Textiles Collection
Victoria & Albert Museum - Fashion, Jewellery & Accessories
Fashion & Costume Research
Historical Fashion Magazines Online:
- Gazette du Bon Ton (selected issues from 1912-1922)
- Godey's Lady's Book
-
Selected material from 1855-58.
- Harper's Bazar
Issues from 1870-1904.
- Journal des Luxus und der Moden
German fashion magazine, 1787-1827.
- Modetijdschrift De Gracieuse
Dutch fashion magazine, 1862-1936
-
Vogue (issues from 1894, 1917, 1922)
Associations & Guilds
(Send suggestions for helpful online resources to add to this page!)