Get inspired!
Timeline of Fashion History
Print Reference Books
A variety of print reference books is available at the library.
Encyclopedia of world dress and fashionCall Number: GT507 .E54 2010 Volumes 1-10 (West Reference)
Fairchild Dictionary of FashionCall Number: TT503 .C34 2003 (West Reference)
Fashion BookCall Number: TT503 .F37 1998 (West Reference)
Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by Call Number: TS1312 .B38 2011 (West Reference)ISBN: 9780764146282
Fashion: A History from the 18th to the 20th Century by Call Number: GT580 .F35 2006 (West Reference)
In an Influential Fashion: An Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-and Twentieth-Century Fashion Designers and Retailers Who Transformed Dress by Call Number: TT505.A1 I5 2002 (West Reference)
Vogue Fashion: Over 100 Years of Style by Decade & Designer by Call Number: GT596 .W38 2008 (West Reference)
The Fashion Industry and Its Careers by Call Number: FDC141 ( West - Course Reserve)ISBN: 9781628923414
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowA unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
E-Reference Resources
Contemporary Fashion by
More than 400 designers, milliners, footwear designers, companies and textile houses are featured in this lavishly illustrated, hardbound reference book. Entries are listed alphabetically and contain the following critical elements: biographical summary; primary and secondary bibliography, including articles and exhibition catalogs; and a signed, critical essay by an expert in the field.
ISBN: 9781558623484Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2004
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by
For assignments requiring research on culturesand customs, fashion and costume information through the erasis frequently needed by middle school students. U · X · L 's "Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Footwear, Hairstyles, and Body Decorations Through the Ages" has all the answers in a comprehensive, chronologically based, affordablypriced, 5-vol. set. With typical U · X · L high quality, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" providesfacts and information about the cultural, religious and social implicationsof human decoration andadornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on thedecades of the 20th century. In500 entries, detailed informationabout clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding and othertypes of fashion or style is examined. Additionally, entries explainthe fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals or practices it relates to, as well as its significance to societyor culture. Entries follow astandardized format to ensure that students caneasily do comparisons. Arranged chronologically, each era, centuryor decade begins with a short synopsis of the historical highlights.With further division of the information by region, similar nations, countries and cultures are presented together and include anoverview broken up with numerous subheads leading studentsdirectly to the information they need. For additional ease-of-use, information on specific fashion items and the country or culturethat used them is divided into four main topics areas including: ClothingFootwearHairstyles and headgearBody adornment To ensure relevancy for student research needs, entries wereselected based onmiddle school curriculum, as well as theirimportance to a particular culture or country. Additionally, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" is written at a seventh-grade readinglevel with difficult terms or concepts explained in each e
ISBN: 0787654175Publication Date: 2003
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History. Vol. 1, Prehistory to 1500 CE by
How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and Clothing in World History gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context. This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia. Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are be included. This set is a critical guide for secondary and undergraduate students interested in history, social history, art history, fashion, and costume. It covers the history of clothing throughout the world from pre-historic times to 2006. Many cultures are included in this study of clothing within the context of social, political, economic and religious history as they pertain to each time period and place. Researchers can turn to this set first for the most essential information about a time, place, and style of dress. The three volumes are divided into comprehensive parts with the goal of making them easy to use and accessible to readers. There are other books and surveys of the history of costume that mainly concentrate on Western Europe, but few that cover different cultures and how they influence fashion in the western world. This book looks at costume throughout the world and throughout history. Includes Men's and Children's Clothing as well as Women's Clothing Includes clothing worn in non-Western countries Includes clothing worn by lower and servant classes as well as wealthy classes Includes accessories
ISBN: 9780313336621Publication Date: 2007
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History. Vol. 3, 1801 to the Present by ISBN: 0313336652Publication Date: 2007
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History: Vol. 2, 1501-1800 by ISBN: 0313336644Publication Date: 2007
Routledge History of Fashion and Dress, 1800 to the Present by ISBN: 9780367272227Publication Date: 2023-11-07Covering myriad aspects of the subject this is the perfect companion for all those interested in history of dress and fashion in the modern world
