Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Research: Library Resources for Research

This guide is intended as a starting place for doing academic research.

Using Databases

Need reliable research information?

Articles located using the Library resources are more trustworthy than information found on many websites because they have been checked and edited by experts.

  • The PCC Library subscribes to 90 databases.
  • PCC students can search the databases at no cost.
  • Google searching will not find 99% of database items because they require a paid subscription. 
  • The Information Resources Tutorial (below) teaches you what types of resources you may use for your research.

 

Which Library source do you use?

You can start by reviewing your research assignment to check if it specifies that you must find specific source types.

For example, some instructors may require that you only use scholarly, peer-reviewed sources. Others may ask that you use newspaper articles or consult an encyclopedia. Maybe your assignment asks that you use a variety of resources. Whatever combination, you have numerous library resource options that you can utilize.

  • MEGASearchMEGASearch is a new way of searching PCC Library's resources.   From a single search box, you can search the library's online catalog, as well as many of our databases.  Find books, e-books, articles, videos, and more.  
  • Books & MoreSearch the library's catalog of print books, E-books, CDs, and Videos.
  • Articles & Databases90 databases with millions of articles-- reference, peer-reviewed, news, magazine, trade, and academic articles.
  • Encyclopedias: General and specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries on the arts, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, science and social science.
  • Research Guides:  Guides created by Librarians to support specific subjects and classes.

‚ÄčAll of these options can be found on the Library tab in My Pima.

 

Search the Megasearch

Books & More

Books & More

  • Options
 
 
  

Books | DVDs | Course Reserves | eBooks

Articles and Databases

Articles and Databases

  • Options

Browse databases by :

 

Go directly to a :

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

  • Options

Get background information from hundreds of specialized encyclopedias within Gale Virtual Reference Library:

   

Research Guide

Research Guides

  • Options

Check out our Research Guides (LibGuides) by subject and by class:

Guides by :