Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Research: Find Articles

This guide is intended as a starting place for doing academic research.

Article Databases

Article Databases

Article databases provide electronic access to large collections of magazine and scholarly journal articles. Articles located in databases are more trustworthy than information found on many websites because they have been checked and edited by experts.

  • The PCC Library subscribes to 90 databases.
  • PCC students can search the databases at no cost.
  • Google searching will not find 99% of database items because they require a paid subscription.
  • The tutorial on Using Research Databases will demonstrate the advantages to using research databases.

Top Article Databases

Tips for Using Databases

When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.

You can print, email, and save articles from databases.

Many of the library databases include MLA, APA, and other citation formats.  If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the citation into your Works Cited or References page!  (Always look them over to make sure they are correct.)

General Periodical and Newspaper Databases

Finding E-Journals

Search for SPECIFIC Online Journals by TITLE or SUBJECT, or try searching these popular titles below:

Flipster