PSY 289 - Downtown - Psychology Research Methods (Bianchi): Google Scholar

You can find scholarly journal articles, books, and more.

(A scholarly publication is written by one expert in an academic discipline for other experts.)

How is Google Scholar different from Google's Web Search?

• Google Scholar focuses exclusively on scholarly publications.
• Although many of these items are available online...
• ...Google Scholar lists lots of items that are NOT available for free
• For free full text, try the links in the right margin.

Other benefits:

See the blue links under each brief record

• Cited by:  Find newer articles that have cited the one you are looking at.
• Related articles: Find articles on similar topics
• Cite: How to cite this article in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

Open  Google Scholar

If you are currently ON-campus (and using the PCC network, skip to the box below.

Are you OFF-campus?  If so, do the following set-up.  Otherwise, you'll miss out on full text articles from PCC.

• Click this icon:          (upper left) 
• Click Settings 
• Click Library Links (upper left)
• Type Pima in the search box, and Search.
• Below, check-mark any boxes that mention Pima Community College.
• Click Save. (If you allow cookies, this setting will stick)

Now Scholar will display Check for Free Full Text when we have the online article.

How to search

• Enter your keywords normally.

Getting full text articles  (see image below)

• In the right margin, look for this link: "Check for free Full-Text." After two clicks, it leads to a PCC article.
• Otherwise, try other links in the right margin.
• If there is no link in the right margin, the item may be a Book, or maybe an article PCC doesn't own.
  • You can try the title link, but usually they will try to sell you the article there.
• If you need NEWER articles, use the links in the Left margin.
• For citation help, click Cite (a blue link, under the record).

What if you find a citation online, but you need the full text?

Easy. Copy/paste the entire citation into Google Scholar.

Many times you will find a matching citation!  If not, open Ask a Librarian and send the citation to a PCC librarian. We will email you back, hopefully with a link.

What if you find an article citation printed in a book? Like this:

Liester, M. B. (1998). Toward a new definition of hallucination. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 68(2), 305-312.

How do you find the full text?

In Google Scholar,

1. Enter the article title, enclosed in quotes:  "Toward a new definition of hallucination"
2. Add the last name of the first author listed. "Toward a new definition of hallucination" Liester

If you find a matching citation, look for full text options.  (See box above)