Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large collection of mostly academic/scholarly articles. It is on the EBSCO platform. So these instructions give details for using EBSCO's interface. This database works like Literary Reference Center.
1. Open the database.
2. Click the Peer Reviewed button.
This ensures your results will be journal articles (part of the assignment). Additionally, they will be peer reviewed, which is quality control applied by experts in the same field as the author.
3. Enter your search terms.
Alternatively, you can click Advanced Search. This lets you search each concept in its own box and (optionally) limit to highly relevant fields, such as Title and Abstract or Subject Terms.
4. Review the results, and open full text.
- Read the Title. If it seems relevant . . .
- Click the Title. Scroll down to the Abstract.
- If it seems relevant, click Access Options (scroll up) for full text. Or you could just email everything to yourself for later.
5. Scan the full text for a key word or phrase.
This tells you what parts of the text are most relevant.
- Open the full text (from the Access Options button).
- Ctrl+F Hold down the Ctrl key, then the F key.
- A box pops up. Enter a word or phrase. Search.
- Any instances of your search term(s) will be highlighted. Click the arrow to jump to the next one.
6. Email the full text to yourself. (You won't regret this.)
- Click the curved arrow icon. (top right).
- Click Email.
- Enter your email address. Send.
- You will get all forms of the full text in an email attachment.
- You can return to the online record to get the citation.
- Scroll down the email.
- Click the Permalink. (see below)
7. Get an MLA citation...
- Click the "quotes" icon (top right)
- .From the Select style (pulldown menu), select MLA 9th edition
- The citation appears.
- Click Copy to clipboard.
- Paste into your Works Cited list.