Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database collects information about controversial issues. It includes many different source types, and labels them clearly.
1. Open the database.
2. Enter your keywords.
3. Review the source types, listed and linked at the top.
- Click this source type: Viewpoints or Featured Viewpoints.
- "Viewpoints" are are meant to persuade the reader. They include editorials, OpEd contributions, or letters to the editor. These articles always make an argument and give some evidence, but it is up to you to evaluate them. Viewpoints are just one of the types represented
4. Click a Title to see the full text.
The blue section at the top is commentary about the article, which follows. It may give you the original publishing context and information about the author. This can be helpful for your evaluation of reliability and appropriateness. But the actual article begins AFTER the blue section.
5. Scan the full text for a key word or phrase.
This tells you what parts of the text are most relevant.
- Open the full text (from the Access Options button).
- Ctrl+F Hold down the Ctrl key, then the F key.
- A box pops up. Enter a word or phrase. Search.
- Any instances of your search term(s) will be highlighted. Click the arrow to jump to the next one.
6. Email the full text to yourself. (You won't regret this.)
- Scroll to the top. Click the Send to icon.
- Click Email.
- Enter your email address, and a note to yourself.
- DON'T click the bubble for Citation. Trust me.
- You will get a PDF of the full text with an MLA citation at the bottom.