Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Style, Notes-Bibliography System: Citing websites, online videos, blog posts, and tweets

Citing Websites, Blog Posts, and Social Media

 
Websites
 
Websites are usually only cited in a Note.  Include a website citation in your Bibliography only if it is an important or major source for your paper.
 
   Websites in Notes:
 
   4. Shana Rose, "Multi-talented Student Works Multimedia," Aztec Press, May 8, 2014, accessed June 18, 2014, http://aztecpressonline.com/2014/05/multi-talented-student-works-multimedia/.
 
   16. "Chancellor's Recognition Scholarship," Pima Community College, last modified April 2014, accessed June 18, 2014, https://www.pima.edu/paying-for-school/scholarships-grants/chancellors-recognition-scholarship.html.
  
   Websites in the Bibliography:
 
"Chancellor's Recognition Scholarship." Pima Community College.
  • If publication date or last modified date is uknown, only include accessed date.
Rose, Shana. "Multi-talented Student Works Multimedia." Aztec
 
Blog Posts
 
Blog posts are usually only cited in a Note.  Include a blog post citation in your Bibliography only if it is an important or major source for your paper.
 
   Blog posts in Notes:
 
   4. Brian Nicholas, "Spring Sapsucker Surprise," Tucson Audubon Society (blog), April 3, 2014, accessed June 17, 2014, http://tucsonaudubon.blogspot.com/.
 
  Blog posts in the Bibliography:
 
Nicholas, Brian. "Spring Sapsucker Surprise." Tucson Audubon
Society (blog). April 3, 2014. Accessed June 17, 2014. http://tucsonaudubon.blogspot.com/.
 
Twitter and Facebook
 
Twitter and Facebook are usually only cited in a Note. 
 
Twitter and Facebook In-Text Citation
 
   11. Organizing for Action, post to Barack Obama's Twitter page, June 19, 2014, accessed June 19, 2014, https://twitter.com/BarackObama/status/479299474552913920.
 
   26. Post to Pima CC Library Facebook page, May 19, 2014 (11:49 a.m.), accessed June 1, 2014,
 

Citing Online Videos

 

Online Videos (including those from a library database)

Videos are usually only cited in a Note.  Include a video citation in your Bibliography only if it is an important or major source for your paper.
 
   Videos in Notes:
 
   2. "Burning Candles: The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay," Films On Demand, 2009, accessed June 19, 2014, http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=17517&xtid=43771.
 
   4. “Alexander Wang - Vogue Voices” (YouTube video), posted by Vogue, April 3, 2013, accessed June 17, 2014,  http://youtu.be/9f2wmJjRdcs.
 
   15. Katy Perry, "Roar" (music video), directed by Grady Hall and Mark Kudsi, accessed February 28, 2014, http://www.mtv.com/videos/adele/693356/someone-like-you.jhtml.
 
  • If publication date or last modified date is uknown, only include accessed date.

 

   Videos in the Bibliography:
 
“Alexander Wang - Vogue Voices” (YouTube video). Posted by
Vogue, April 3, 2013.  Accessed June 17, 2014.  http://youtu.be/9f2wmJjRdcs.
 
"Burning Candles: The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay." Films On
 
Perry, Katy. "Roar" (music video). Directed by Grady Hall and Mark
Kudsi. Accessed February 28, 2012. http://www.katyperry.com/videos/roar/