WRT 101 - Northwest - Writing I: Get Started

Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources.  Some reference resource will be available in print at the library.  Other reference resources are available electronically.  This page will guide you with both types of reference resources.

General Resources

• Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Online encyclopedia
• Gale Virtual Reference Library: Specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries on the arts, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, science and social science

Next, use MEGASearch to begin finding books, articles, reports and other academic resources on your topic.

Use the MEGASearch to search the Library catalog, online article databases, e-books, and more, all from one search box!

Introducing MegaSearch

MegaSearch is a new way of searching PCC Library's resources.   From a single search box, you can search the library's online catalog, as well as many of our databases.  Find books, e-books, articles, videos, and more.  MegaSearch is powered by EBSCO's Discovery Service.

How to do a search:

1) Enter your search terms on the Basic Search screen and click Search.

  2) Use the limiters on the left side to limit your results.  You can limit results by:

• items in the Library Catalog only (books, videos, etc. mainly physical items in library collection)
• Scholarly journal articles
• Date
• Source type (e.g. books, e-books, videos, periodicals)
• Subject headings
• Campus

3. View Full Text Records or Retrieve Catalog Items

In the results list, you have the option of clicking the title of the item to view the full record.  You can also view the full-text directly if full-text of the article is available (either as HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text).  If the item is a book, you can click Retrieve the Catalog Item to put the book on hold, or get to the full record within the library catalog.