Identifying Nonprofits
- Foundation FinderFoundation Finder offers basic information on grantmakers in the U.S. including private foundations, community foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate giving programs. Search by grantmaker name or location.
- Guidestar.orgdatabase of 2 million nonprofit organizations. Register for free to get the most information out of this database.
- idealist.organ interactive site for exploring community resources & nonprofits
- IRS's "Search for Charities" pagean online, searchable list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions
Find a Nonprofit's Homepage
Search Google to locate your nonprofit organization's homepage.
From the homepage, you can research organization history, programs, news, and contact information.
Find News about a Nonprofit
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window"Collection of digitized news content, spanning the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage of important (and sometimes forgotten) people, places and events dating back to the 1700s." -ProQuest
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowarticles from Popular magazines, scholarly journals, and more
- Tucson Weeklyhome of a local newspaper, includes free access to all archives
Find Nonprofit Financials
- 990 FinderA free look-up tool, from the Foundation Center, that allows you to search for IRS information returns of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofit organizations.
- Nonprofit Organization Information | Economic Research Institute (ERI)Free search tool for financials of more than 2 million U.S. nonprofits. Records include organization's basic details. ERI collects, analyzes, and publishes information on nonprofit executive compensation.
- Noza 990-PFsFree access to 990-PFs (private foundation tax returns) by Noza
Citing Form 990s
How to cite an IRS form in MLA format. --Kris Swank, Librarian, NW Campus
Government. Department. Agency. "Document title." Web site title. Publisher/sponsor. Publication date. Medium. Date of Access.
Example:
United States. Department of Treasury. Internal Revenue Service. "2004 Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990): American Cancer Society." 990 Finder. Foundation Center, 2006. Web. 14 October 2010.
(Make sure to double space your citations, and use the hanging indent. Technical limitations prohibit proper formatting here.)