PCC Library Recording Resources
Podcasting for Dummies by
Add your voice to the podcasting revolution! The world is tuning into podcasts in larger and larger numbers. When you're ready to add your own voice to the mix, this book will help you find your niche. Featuring top tech information, production insight, and promotional tips, this best-selling podcasting reference shares the latest on podcasting trends and new audience demographics. Written by a pair of podcasting pioneers, Podcasting For Dummies will help you refine your podcast idea, identify your audience, and get the scoop on how to record, edit, and share your work. You'll also learn how to apply the methods top podcasters monetize and market their work. Record your voice and conduct high-quality interviews for your new or existing podcast Edit, upload, and share podcast episodes online--and find people who will listen Learn how to make money as a podcaster or live streamer Discover interesting and original podcasts to inspire your own work Podcasting for Dummies is your friendly tutor in the art of audio content creation. So start talking!
ISBN: 9781119711810Publication Date: 2020-11-10
NPR's Podcast Start up Guide by
From NPR comes the definitive guide to podcasting-featuring step-by-step advice on how to find a unique topic, tell the best stories, and engage the most listeners, as well as the secrets that will take your pod to the next level. Whoever you are, whatever you love, there's a podcast audience waiting for you, and in today's booming audio storytelling landscape, it's never been easier to share your voice with the world. But while the barrier to entry for podcast production is relatively low (just the cost of a mic and a laptop), the learning curve is steep-and quality matters. That's where NPR comes in. InNPR's Podcast Start Up Guide,Glen Weldon draws on NPR's extensive educational materials and army of talent-from recognizable hosts, such as Guy Raz (How I Built This), Gene Demby (Code Switch), Linda Holmes (Pop Culture Happy Hour), and Yowei Shaw (Invisibilia), to indispensable behind-the-scenes players, such as producers, engineers, and editors-to guide aspiring podcasters through the conception, creation, and launch of a podcast. Part master class, part candid informational interview with the best in the business, this book is a must-read for anyone who wants to make their dream of starting a podcast a reality.
ISBN: 9780593139080Publication Date: 2021-06-29
The Digital Photography Book by
Learn how to take professional-quality photographs using the same tricks today's top photographers use (surprisingly, it's easier than you'd think)! This is a completely, totally updated version of the #1 best-selling digital photography book of all time! It's the award winning, worldwide smash hit, written by Scott Kelby, that's been translated into dozens of different languages. Here's how Scott describes this book's brilliant premise: "If you and I were out on a shoot, and you asked me, 'Hey, how do I get this flower to be in focus, with the background out of focus?,' I wouldn't stand there and give you a photography lecture. In real life, I'd just say, 'Put on your zoom lens, set your f-stop to f/2.8, focus on the flower, and fire away.' That's what this book is all about: you and I out shooting where I answer questions, give you advice, and share the secrets I've learned just like I would with a friend--without all the technical explanations and techie photo speak." This isn't a book of theory--full of confusing jargon and detailed concepts. This is a book on which button to push, which setting to use, and when to use it. With over 200 of the most closely guarded photographic "tricks of the trade," this book gets you shooting dramatically better-looking, sharper, more colorful, more professional-looking photos every time. Each page covers a single concept that makes your photography better. Every time you turn the page, you'll learn another pro setting, tool, or trick to transform your work from snapshots into gallery prints. If you're tired of taking shots that look "okay," and if you're tired of looking in photography magazines and thinking, "Why don't my shots look like that?" then this is the book for you. TABLE OF CONTENTS Chapter 1: Pro Tips for Getting Sharp Photos Chapter 2: The Scoop on Lenses Chapter 3: Shooting Landscapes Like a Pro Chapter 4: Shooting Travel Like a Pro Chapter 5: Making Portraits Like a Pro Chapter 6: Making Portraits with Flash Like a Pro Chapter 7: Shooting Weddings Like a Pro Chapter 8: Shooting Sports Like a Pro Chapter 9: Shooting Other Stuff Like a Pro Chapter 10: Pro Tips for Getting Better Photos Chapter 11: How to Print Like a Pro Chapter 12: Photo Recipes to Help You Get the Shot
ISBN: 9781681986715Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Cengage Advantage Books: Visual Storytelling by
VISUAL STORYTELLING: VIDEOGRAPHY AND POST PRODUCTION IN THE DIGITAL AGE SECOND EDITION combines a thorough exploration of essential storytelling concepts with detailed instruction in practical technical skills. Without limiting its focus to a particular range of equipment, applications, or technology, this engaging text covers the key concepts, aesthetics, and techniques of single-camera field production and post production, and includes real-life stories and suggestions from working professionals.
ISBN: 9781285081663Publication Date: 2013-01-29
East Campus Video and Sound Recording Equipment
The Makerspace has a variety of recording equipment for creative production of everything from podcasts to multimedia art.
 |
Sony Alpha ZV-E10 with 15-50mm Lens -- Lightweight and can be used for photographs and as a webcam. |
 |
Rode VideoMic GO - Microphone that attaches to camera for on-the-go audio recording. |
 |
SmallRig 71" Camera Tripod with built in Monopod. |
 |
Zoom H8 (Bundled with 128GB Extreme Pro - Portable hand-held recorder. Can be connected to camera. |
 |
MXL 770 - XLR connection - Microphone for sit-down, podcast recording, vocal or instrumental recording. |
Free Sound & Image Assets
BBC Sound Effects - More than 33,000 sound clips from from animals to everyday life covering the past 100 years and available for personal, educational, and research purposes.
Chosic - Free music that can be searched by genre and mood and downloaded. Must use creator attribution.
Free Music Archive - Music in a variety of genres from independent creators. Most of the licenses on FMA are Creative Commons licenses.
Freesound - A collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds.
Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search) - A database of 700 million creative works including images and audio.
Pixabay - Stock image, videos and music.
Pexels (Photos and Videos) - Stock videos.
National Archives Motion Pictures - Image and sound recordings from history of the U.S.
Library of Congress - Portal to the LOC digital collections.