OER Search Engine
- Find OEROpen is a OER search engine to help you find openly licensed media elements to use within your courses. Open has four search categories:
General Search, Images/Photos search, Video search, Audio/Music search
Open Textbooks
- OER CommonsISKME created OER Commons in 2007. OER Commons has partnered with over 500 organizations to provide resources for educators.
- OpenStax CollegeProvided by Rice University and supported by many education foundations. OpenStax provides quality free textbooks to meet your course needs.
- BC Campus OpenEDOpen textbook project started with initiative from British Columbia Advanced Education and the BC campus. BC Campus OpenED offers 70 openly licensed textbooks
- BookboonBookboon is a Danish ebook and print book publisher. They offer over 900 free textbooks.
- DOAB: Directory of Open AccessAcademic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 269 publishers (Open Source Titles).
- Galileo Open Learning MaterialsGALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
- Lumen LearningLumen Learning’s mission is to make great learning opportunities available to all students, regardless of socioeconomic background.
- MERLOT IIMultimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching brought to you by California State University. MERLOT II provides free textbooks and other materials for education.
- Michigan Open Book Projectis a multi-year initiative funded as part of the Technology Readiness Infrastructure Grant (TRIG) from the Michigan Department of Education. It is designed to empower groups of master K-12 teachers to come together, collaborate and develop an open education resource for use in Michigan classrooms.
- Oasis (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)An easy-to-use OER search tool developed by Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo. Search results by license, type, subject, source, and reviews.
- OERs SubjectsFrom Niagara College in Canada.
- Open Textbook LibraryCreated by the University of Minnesota and now part of a large network of universities. Provides free high quality textbooks.
- Open Textbook Library Textbooks in DevelopmentBrowse OER textbooks in development to see what is coming soon!
- Open TextBookStoreA collection of open source and free e-Textbooks curated and reviewed by educators.
Provides book descriptions, table of contents, and a list of available supplemental materials.
Lists license, file format, and printing information. - State University of New York (SUNY)Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Initiative Technology Grant.
- Teaching CommonsThe Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
- Textbook EquityTextbook Equity, based in Los Gatos, California, USA, is a creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of “open*” textbooks and other materials to college-level students. They provide free, complete PDF’s of textbooks.
- UC Open Educational Resources for NursingThe OERN's portal is open and free for everyone around the world to use.
Public Domain Books
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet Archive - eBooks and TextsA huge repository of text, audio and video files, including public domain titles. You can browse and read online over 5 million books and items from over 1,500 collections.
- Books Should Be Free (LoyalBooks)
Books that have entered the public domain are digitized and recorded by volunteers that coordinate themselves through a variety of websites. The majority of public domain books, however, are digitized by Project Gutenberg and recorded by Librivox.org.
- Classical Chinese Literature
This site contains Chinese classics with each character hyperlinked to its definition and etymology. No Chinese software is necessary - characters are displayed as images. Links to English translations are included for most works.
- DPLA Open Bookshelf
Allows anyone to browse and directly download any of the more than 6,300 ebook titles available on DPLA’s Open Bookshelf. Read classic novels, children’s books, textbooks and non-English titles, all for free, with no login or library card needed.
- DPLA - Primary Source Sets
Digital Public Library of America - Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use
- DPLA - Search
Digital Public Library of America - Discover 36,868,852 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Europeana
To find free public domain books, search for the author or title, and in the left-side panel narrow results by file type (“text”), and by copyright (“public domain marked”)
- Feedbooks - Public Domain
Site designed with mobile reading in mind. It’s tailored for mobile browsers, so you can download free ebooks directly to your tablet or smartphone.
- Great Books and Classics
Useful directory to finding classic works online, directs patron to materials at Project Gutenberg, Perseus/Tufts, Internet Sacred Texts Library, as well as other sources.
- Harvard Classics - The Five Foot Shelf
Through Bartleby.com, online reading only (no download). HTML for all titles in The Harvard Classics Shelf of Fiction,
Selected by Charles W. Eliot, LLD "The most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time, ...covering every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century."
-
There are over 1,000,000 free ebook titles available. Most of the titles are public domain, but you can also find here a growing lending library of over 200,000 contemporary ebooks.
- The Literature Network
Over 3500 full books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors. The quotations database has over 8500 quotes, and the quiz system features over 340 quizzes
- Manybooks
ManyBooks was established in 2004. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site. ManyBooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily - provided they comply to quality standards.
-
Palace Bookshelf The Palace Bookshelf is a collection of more than 15,000 open access ebooks that are available for free download. The collection includes classics, children’s books, textbooks, foreign language titles, and more–made available from the Digital Public Library of America.
- Online Books Page
Hosted through University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Not fancy, but gets access to over 3 million works in the public domain.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a top destination for free ebooks on the web and one of the oldest, established by Michael S. Hart in 1971.