This award is designed to recognize and reward exemplary library research skills. Students submit a research paper or presentation that incorporates library resources with a bibliography or list of works cited that they have completed for a PCC course together with short reflections on three questions about their process. Applications missing any of the required elements will not be considered. A panel of librarians review the submissions, looking for evidence of excellent research skills and strong information literacy. Information literacy is one of PCC’s General Education Learning Outcomes and an information literate student possesses important skills to succeed both in and out of the classroom.
Only individuals are eligible for the scholarship award. To make an individual application using a project created by a group, be sure to clearly identify the work you were solely responsible for and to complete the reflections on your individual process.
Complete Submission
Does the paper or presentation use library resources?
Was it created for a PCC class within the last year?
Did the project include a bibliography/ list of works cited?
Did the student submit a response to all three prompts?
For Group Projects
Are the portions attributable to the student submitting the application for the scholarship award clearly indicated?
Paper or Presentation
Accomplished: Consistently synthesizes and integrates relevant source material. Uses credible information sources to support the thesis. Correctly cites information in text. Correctly and consistently follows a citation style and formatting.
Proficient: Synthesizes and integrates some source material, forces or “patchworks” some source material. Struggles to focus on relevant source material at times. Uses mostly credible information sources to support the thesis. Correctly cites information in text most of the time. Correctly and consistently follows a citation style and formatting most of the time.
Needs Improvement: Uses information sources to write in a “patchwork” fashion, does not synthesize sources. Includes a mix of relevant and less relevant sources, mostly from. Lacks sufficient credible sources to strengthen thesis. Inconsistent in-text citations.
Bibliography or Works Cited
Accomplished: Correctly and consistently follows a citation style and formatting. Cites 2 or more different types of highly relevant information sources (e.g. peer-reviewed journals, credible websites, government reports, etc.), most of which can be discovered via library databases.
Proficient: Consistently follows a citation style and formatting with only a few errors or inconsistencies. Sources are somewhat repetitive (e.g. all newspaper articles or all from a single perspective.) At least a few sources can be discovered via library databases.
Needs Improvement: Evidence of an attempt to follow a citation style and formatting with many errors or inconsistencies. Citations copied from generators with no evidence of an attempt to create a consistent font/ format.
Description of the assignment AND how project met or exceeded the requirements
Accomplished: In describing assignment requirements, indicates a clear understanding of the information and types of sources needed. Articulates elements of the research project that exceed the requirements.
Proficient: In describing assignment requirements, indicates some understanding of the information and types of sources needed. Articulates elements of the research project that meet the requirements.
Needs Improvement: Does not clearly describe assignment requirements or does not seem to fully understand the information required to meet expectations. Research project does not seem to fully meet all of the assignment requirements.
Use of Library tools/resources to make project stronger
Accomplished: Uses multiple tools such as catalog, databases or MegaSearch discovery for finding information. Uses resources such as collections or services (books, articles, films, Ask a Librarian, Research consultations.)
Proficient: Uses only one or two Library tools or resources (i.e. MegaSearch, specific databases, books, articles, help, etc.) to find information.
Needs Improvement: Omits the use of appropriate tools or resources that could have strengthened the project.
Demonstrated information literacy
Accomplished: Answer includes all of the following elements: References parts of the research process such as refining topics, selecting keywords, changing directions in light of new information, or persistence and initiative in accessing sources. Discusses the evaluation of sources, including criteria for evaluation. Indicates an understanding of the responsible use of information.
Proficient: Answer includes only one or two of the following elements: References some part of the research process such as refining topics, selecting keywords, changing directions in light of new information, or persistence and initiative in accessing sources. Mentions but does not provide or provides very limited discussion of the evaluation of sources. Indicates some understanding of the responsible use of information.
Needs Improvement: Does not describe, or only describes in an incomplete way, one of the following elements: Steps in the research process; Awareness of evaluation criteria; Understanding of the responsible use of information