Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRT 102- Downtown -Research Scavenger Hunt: NOT Appropriate Source

Directions from Assignment

Using the Internet or any database

  • Find source that you think is NOT appropriate, trustworthy, and persuasive to include in your essay.

  • Use the Source Evaluation Checklist to to analyze the quality, bias, and appropriateness of the source. Respond to the questions to write a paragraph. Be sure to include a quote that captures the main idea of the source and cite it properly in MLA format. This paragraph is your annotation. 

  • Use this guide, the database citation generator, or an online citation generator to generate an MLA citation for this source.

  • Will you include this in your final draft of your essay or works cited?

 

Articles and Databases

If you want to search a specific database, use Articles and Databases.

Articles and Databases

  • Options

Browse databases by :

 

Go directly to a :

Internet Search

Google Web Search

ZBib Citation Generator

Zbib or Zotero Bib  is my preferred citation generator. Simply copy and paste the URL of the website you'd like to cite in to Zbib, select MLA 8 from the citation styles menu, and then copy and paste your citation into your Annotated Bibliography.  

Citing Websites

 General Format for Websites

Author(s). “Title of the Page.” Title of the Website, Publisher or Sponsor, Date of

publication, url.

 

Examples

 

Website

Strong, Michael. “Forget the World Bank, Try Wal-Mart.” TCS Daily, Tech Central Station,

         22 Aug. 2006, www.ideasinactiontv.com/tcs_daily/2006/08/forget-the-world-bank-try-wal-mart.html.

  • Include the website url, but omit http:// or https://.

 

Website with no author

“Parenting Corner Q&A: Immunizations.” American Academy of Pediatrics, Feb. 2009.

        www.aap.org/en-us/about-the- aap/aap-press-room/pages/american-academy-of-pediatrics-urges-parents-to-

        vaccinate-children-to-protect-against-measles.aspx?nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-

        000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR:+No+local+token.

  • If the website name and the website publisher are the same, omit the publisher.

 

Website with no website name and no date

Mazer, Cary M. "Bernard Shaw: A Brief Biography." Dept. of English, U of Pennsylvania, 

        www.english.upenn.edu/~cmazer/mis1.html. Accessed 21 June 2016.

  • If the website content has no clear date, or the date of the content is subject to editing, provide the date you accessed the site.