Film Arts
ROOM WITH A VIEW, A (1985) - BONHAM CARTER, HELENA; SANDS, JULIAN. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. quest.eb.com/images/144_1488649. Accessed 18 Sept 2024.
ROOM WITH A VIEW, A (1985) - DAY-LEWIS, DANIEL. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. quest.eb.com/images/144_1485032. Accessed 19 Sept 2024.
Books: Library Catalog Subject Headings
Color Palettes and Digital Swatches
Fabric Stores Online
Typography
E-books - Fashion History
Ancient Egyptian, Assyrian, and Persian Costumes RationsPublication Date: 2017
Body, Dress, and Identity in Ancient Greece by
This is the first general monograph on ancient Greek dress in English to be published in more than a century. By applying modern dress theory to the ancient evidence, this book reconstructs the social meanings attached to the dressed body in ancient Greece. Whereas many scholars have focused on individual aspects of ancient Greek dress, from the perspectives of literary, visual, and archaeological sources, this volume synthesizes the diverse evidence and offers fresh insights into this essential aspect of ancient society. Intended to be accessible to nonspecialists as well as classicists, and students as well as academic professionals, this book will find a wide audience.
ISBN: 1107662532Publication Date: 2018
Costume Through the Ages by
Few books of costume design will prove more useful to artists, students, stage designers, and scholars than this volume. Presenting detailed drawings in a continuous chronological format, it provides a history of costume design through the ages, from the first century A.D. to 1930. Culled from sculpture, lithographs, paintings, illuminated manuscripts, engravings, caricatures, fashion plates, photographs, and magazines, these illustrations have been carefully redrawn to bring out essential lines as well as all the details. Men, women, and children are shown in authentic dress, in characteristic period postures, and coiffed in contemporary hairstyles -- even their gestures and bearing offer the reader insight into the attitudes and manners of their times. Due to the acceleration of change in styles, the book moves from single pages representing entire centuries to one-page-per-year depictions of fashion development. In all, more than 1,400 illustrations chronicle the full sweep of two millennia of Western garb, from Roman noble to Victorian dandy, from Elizabethan lady to Jazz Age schoolboy -- all in easily accessible form. Painstakingly researched and meticulously detailed, this book will be a valuable asset and resource for students, illustrators, costume and cultural historians -- anyone interested in the history of fashion.
ISBN: 9780486136851Publication Date: 2012
Draping Period Costumes: Classical Greek to Victorian by
One way of creating a theatrical costume is called flat patterning. This is when a costume designer uses a pattern made to the wearer's measurements to cut out and sew together a costume. In many cases flat patterning is the more appropriate method for creating a period costume - skirts, pants, and sleeves, for example. However, working in two-dimensions often does not translate correctly onto a three-dimensional dress form or person. Often a designer will need to tweak style lines on a garment once they see it worn, or a costume will need a quick adjustment right before going on stage. In those cases, designers need to know how to correctly drape a costume. Draping is also the best way to construct a period costume right from the start. The construction of garments in earlier centuries often constricted movement, especially in the area of the armhole. The very different size and proportions of contemporary people compared to those in previous centuries makes the use of period patterns difficult. A well-draped garment can give the impression of period accuracy while permitting the wearer greater freedom of movement. Having a mock-up pinned to the form in its early stages is quicker and easier to adapt than drafting a flat pattern, cutting it out of muslin and sewing it. It also provides the opportunity for greater creativity and adaptation as well as a better understanding of what fabric will and won't do. In Draping Period Costumes, Sharon Sobel explains in step-by-step detail the basics of draping and demonstrates the use of those basic skills in the creation of a representative selection of period costumes from a variety of time periods. Chapters are broken into time periods and have two parts: an analysis of how clothing was made and worn during that specific time period, and detailed instruction on draping techniques to construct the costume. Copiously illustrated, images allow this visual audience to easily follow along with detailed instructions. A part of the Costume Topics series, this book will be 256 pages, a snazzy 8.25 x 7.5 trim size, and spiral bound-a format consistently requested by our audience so that they can lay the book flat while working from it.
ISBN: 9781136085826Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
"Steele, director of the Fashion Institute of Technology Museum, has crafted, with the help of 325 contributors, an authoritative introduction to fashion, the industry, and the issues that hve defined the field. Some 640 articles describe the colorful facets of couture and textiles, from fabrics of chintz, corduroy, and feathers to such garb as aprons, bikinis, and prison dress. There are color plates and nearly 600 black-and-white illustrations. Back matter includes a comprehensive index, a timeline, and a topical outline."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
ISBN: 9780684314518Publication Date: 2004
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000 by
Here is an updated edition of Joan Nunn's detailed survey of costume in the Western world over the past eight centuries. She not only gives the reader a vivid visual impression of the clothes themselves, but also outlines the historical and social background and the changes in manufacturing techniques and fashionable life that have influenced the way costume has developed and the manner in which it has been worn. The book is illustrated throughout with hundreds of line drawings.
ISBN: 9781461663294Publication Date: 2000
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History: Vol. 2, 1501-1800 by ISBN: 9780313336645Publication Date: 2007
A History of Costume by
Egypt, Babylon, Greece up through 19th-century Europe; based on surviving pieces, art work, much more. Includes many clear, measured patterns for reproducing historic costumes. Full text. 595 illustrations. "...landmark in the field of Western European costume...exceptional value for its price." -- American Artist.
ISBN: 9780486136059Publication Date: 2012
Three-Piece Suit and Modern Masculinity by
In 1666, King Charles II felt it necessary to reform Englishmen's dress by introducing a fashion that developed into the three-piece suit. We learn what inspired this royal revolution in masculine attire--and the reasons for its remarkable longevity--in David Kuchta's engaging and handsomely illustrated account. Between 1550 and 1850, Kuchta says, English upper- and middle-class men understood their authority to be based in part upon the display of masculine character: how they presented themselves in public and demonstrated their masculinity helped define their political legitimacy, moral authority, and economic utility. Much has been written about the ways political culture, religion, and economic theory helped shape ideals and practices of masculinity. Kuchta allows us to see the process working in reverse, in that masculine manners and habits of consumption in a patriarchal society contributed actively to people's understanding of what held England together. Kuchta shows not only how the ideology of modern English masculinity was a self-consciously political and public creation but also how such explicitly political decisions and values became internalized, personalized, and naturalized into everyday manners and habits.
ISBN: 9780520921399Publication Date: 2002
Article Databases
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowA unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowReference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
- Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window"Reaches back to the ancient world and forward to today's headlines to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe." -Gale
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowAmerican history and popular culture, including fads and entertainment.
- Salem Press: History This link opens in a new windowOverviews of key events and people across history.
Research Guides of Interest
Access PCC Library Research Guides on all topics from the Library's home page.
Mood Board Apps
- CanvaCanva is a free-to-use online graphic design tool. Use it to create mood boards, social media posts, presentations, posters, videos, logos and more.
Image Databases
- ARTstor (now JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
- Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Image Collections and Image Resources on the WWW
Professional Associations & Companies
History Images from Museums and Libraries
Digital Public Library of America
- Images organized by topic.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division and Library of Congress Photos
- Images organized by collection.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
World Digital Library (joint project from the Library of Congress and UNESCO)
- Primary sources including documents, images and audiovisual materials
- Check copyright with the institution owning the object.
- All content on this site is protected by a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license unless otherwise stated. You will find a copyright notice under any material protected by copyright (or other licenses) on this site.
The Metropolitan Museum Collection Online
- 400,000 high-resolution digital images from the Metropolitan Museum collection.
- Browsable via artist, maker, culture, object type, material, geographic location, era, and department.
- Downloadable.
- For non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
National Archives, Photograph Collections
- Images organized by topic and date.
- Most images are in the public domain.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
- Copyright on NYPL digital images varies. See individual item for more details.
- For permissions and information on use contact: permissions@nypl.org.
Smithsonian Collections Online
- Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes.
- Images, information and other materials which can be used freely in educational settings.
National Anthropological Archives at the Smithsonian
United States Holocaust Museum
Life Magazine Photo Archive (powered by Google)
- Most images will have copyright restrictions, but may be usable under Fair Use
Memorica (Mexican Ministry of Culture)
- Use online exhibits to find images related to the history and culture of Mexico.
- Free non-commercial use.
- Images organized by topic.
- For full collection see: https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
History Images from Museums and Libraries
Digital Public Library of America
- Images organized by topic.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division and Library of Congress Photos
- Images organized by collection.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
World Digital Library (joint project from the Library of Congress and UNESCO)
- Primary sources including documents, images and audiovisual materials
- Check copyright with the institution owning the object.
- All content on this site is protected by a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license unless otherwise stated. You will find a copyright notice under any material protected by copyright (or other licenses) on this site.
The Metropolitan Museum Collection Online
- 400,000 high-resolution digital images from the Metropolitan Museum collection.
- Browsable via artist, maker, culture, object type, material, geographic location, era, and department.
- Downloadable.
- For non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
National Archives, Photograph Collections
- Images organized by topic and date.
- Most images are in the public domain.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
- Copyright on NYPL digital images varies. See individual item for more details.
- For permissions and information on use contact: permissions@nypl.org.
Smithsonian Collections Online
- Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes.
- Images, information and other materials which can be used freely in educational settings.
National Anthropological Archives at the Smithsonian
United States Holocaust Museum
Life Magazine Photo Archive (powered by Google)
- Most images will have copyright restrictions, but may be usable under Fair Use
Memorica (Mexican Ministry of Culture)
- Use online exhibits to find images related to the history and culture of Mexico.
- Free non-commercial use.
- Images organized by topic.
- For full collection see: https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.