Digital Film Arts & Animation: DAR 103

Continue your research by finding books (videos, DVDs, etc.) about your topic.

Search the Library Catalog

Tips for seaching the catalog:

• USE simple words, and put exact phrases in quotes:  "landscape photography"
• COMBINE multiple topics in one search result by using "AND":  surrealism AND photography
• "*" truncates words with multiple endings (photo, photography, photography, photographic...):  photo*
  
• AVOID typing in long phrases. (See what happens when you type in "How can I improve my printing tecniques?")
• When you find a useful book, check its catalog record for SUBJECT HEADINGS which will link you to other books on the same topic.  Or, try using the subject headings listed on the left-side margin of this page.
  

• Find books at a specific campus by clicking .
• Or request books from another campus by clicking  .

The above databases index current and past, full text articles from The Hollywood Reporter, Billboard Magazine, Rolling Stone, Variety, and Entertainment Weekly.

Digital Public Library of America

• Images organized by topic.
• Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division and Library of Congress Photos

• Images organized by collection.
• Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.

World Digital Library (joint project from the Library of Congress and UNESCO)

• Primary sources including documents, images and audiovisual materials
• Check copyright with the institution owning the object.

World History Encyclopedia

• All content on this site is protected by a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license unless otherwise stated. You will find a copyright notice under any material protected by copyright (or other licenses) on this site.

The Metropolitan Museum Collection Online

• 400,000 high-resolution digital images from the Metropolitan Museum collection.
• Browsable via artist, maker, culture, object type, material, geographic location, era, and department.
• Downloadable.
• For non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.

National Archives, Photograph Collections

• Images organized by topic and date.
• Most images are in the public domain.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

• Copyright on NYPL digital images varies.  See individual item for more details.
• For permissions and information on use contact: permissions@nypl.org.

Smithsonian Collections Online

• Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes.

Smithsonian Open Access

• Images, information and other materials which can be used freely in educational settings.

National Anthropological Archives at the Smithsonian

United States Holocaust Museum

Life Magazine Photo Archive (powered by Google)

• Most images will have copyright restrictions, but may be usable under Fair Use

Memorica (Mexican Ministry of Culture)

• Use online exhibits to find images related to the history and culture of Mexico.
• Free non-commercial use.

British Museum Images

• Images organized by topic.
• For full collection see: https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection
• Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.

Political Cartoons

Today's Political Cartoons