Databases for Topic Exploration
MegaSearch
- This is the Library's "Google," with 400 million items
- Tips
- Open it.
- Click Advanced Search (under the search box)
- Enter your main topic, and Search.
- Explore slices of your topic. Enter a focus topic in the next search box. Search
- Explore facets (left column), such as different Formats
- Email an article to yourself (right column) and get an MLA citation
Gale Academic OneFile: Topic Finder
- This database has a visual Topic Finder. It shows clickable subtopics in your search results.
- Open the direct link (above)
- Enter your topic (under Topic Finder): stress
- Scroll to see the visual.
- Click a subtopic: mental health
- Then browse the articles (right).
- Or click the visual again for a narrower slice
- Email an article to yourself. Click Send (top), then Email.
- Get a citation: Click Cite (top), the copy the MLA 9th ed. citation.
Gale eBooks
- This is the Library's "Wikipedia."
- Get an overview of a topic. Or explore possible topics to write about.
- Open it.
- Enter a topic: hallucinations
- Select an article. You may have several encyclopedias to choose from, each with a different angle:
- Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Paranormal Psychology
- etc.
- Email an article to yourself. Click Send (top), then Email.
- Get a citation: Click Cite (top), the copy the MLA 9th ed. citation.
How to I see what databases the library has?
The A-Z Databases list
- An alphabetical list of all our 153 databases
- Databases by Subject (pulldown menu)
- Search for a database by its name
In the future, how can I find the A-Z List?
It is on the Library home page:
