Article Databases
Article Databases
Article databases provide electronic access large collections of newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles. Within these databases, search for social service agencies such as "Goodwill Industries," "Salvation Army", "Community Food Bank", and corporations that participate in social assistance such as "Ronald McDonald House" Local and national agencies can be searched in all of the databases below, but information on most local agencies in Tucson will appear primarily in periodicals such as the Arizona Daily Star.
Top Article Databases
Tips for Using Databases
When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.
You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Many of the library databases include MLA citations. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the MLA citation into your Works Cited page.
Helpful Databases:
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window"Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts." -Gale
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
Search dozens of databases and the library catalog. Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop criticalthinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window"Collection of digitized news content, spanning the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage of important (and sometimes forgotten) people, places and events dating back to the 1700s." -ProQuest
Tucson Social Agencies... Ronald McDonald House and Salvation Army
