Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

REA 091 - Desert Vista - Researching Social Agencies/Nonprofits - Condit and Haro: Examples of Citations for A Bibliography

What Is a Bibliography? (From Plagiarism.org)

 

What's a Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of all of the sources you have used (whether referenced or not) in the process of researching your work. In general, a bibliography should include:

  • the authors' names
  • the titles of the works
  • the names and locations of the companies that published your copies of the sources
  • the dates your copies were published
  • the page numbers of your sources (if they are part of multi-source volumes)

OK, So What's an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is the same as a bibliography with one important difference: in an annotated bibliography, the bibliographic information is followed by a brief description of the content, quality, and usefulness of the source.

OK, So How Is a Bibliography Different from a "Works Cited" or "References" List?

The Works Cited or References list is only comprised of references to those items actually cited in the paper.

 

MLA Style for Bibliographies

MLA HANDBOOK 8th ed.                  EXAMPLES OF CITATIONS

                                                                                                           General Format for Articles

PRINT ARTICLES:

Author(s). “Title of the Article.” Title of the Journal, vol.#, no.#, Date, pp. page range.

 

ELECTRONIC ARTICLES (found in library databases):

Author(s). “Title of the Article.” Title of the Journal, vol.#, no.#, Date, pp. page range.

Name of the Database, url or doi.

 

NEWSPAPERS, JOURNAL ARTICLES, AND MAGAZINES   

           Burrell, Lisa. "We Just Can't Handle Diversity: A Research Roundup." The Harvard

        Business Review, July-Aug. 2016, pp. 71-74. 

          Newton-Small, Jay. "In Dallas, Police Lives Mourned But Rage Continues to

         Boil Over." Time, 10 July 2016 ,pp. 15+. 

Karst, Rayna. “Joplin Ronald McDonald House to Celebrate 20 Years.” Joplin Globe, The (MO), 25 July 2018. EBSCOhost,  

         search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nfh&AN=2W63614401164&site=ehost-live.

                                                                              Format for Books and Other Materials

 

BOOKS

MLA Handbook. 8th ed., Kindle ed., Modern Language Association of American,

2016. 

Morrison, Toni. Beloved. Alfred Knopf, 1987. 

Sullivan, Patricia. Lift Every Voice:  the NAACP and the Making of the Civil Rights Movement. New Press:  Distributed by Perseus Distribution, 2009.

 

WEB ( DATABASES)   

Author’s Last name, First name.  “Title of the article.” Title of the journal, First name, Last name of any   other contributors, Version (if applicable) , Numbers (such as a volume and issue number) Publisher, Publication date, Page numbers, Title of the database,  URL.

 

  1. Example:  Asafu-Adjaye, Prince. “Private Returns on Education in Ghana:  Estimating the Effects of Education on Employability in Ghana.”  African Sociological Review, vol. 16, no. 1,

CODESRIA, 2012, pp. 120-138.JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24487691.

 

INTERVIEWS

Citation Format for Interviews

Important: Always begin your citation with the name of the person interviewed as the author, followed by the title of the interview (if there is any). The interviewer's name may be included if it is relevant (style.mla.org/category/ask-the-mla/?s=interview).

Interview you saw on television or heard on the radio

Citation examples:

Blackmun, Harry. Interview with Ted Koppel and Nina Totenberg. Nightline, ABC, WABC, 5 Apr. 1994. 

Nader, Ralph. Interview with Ray Suarez. Talk of the Nation, KQED, San Francisco. 16 Apr. 1998. 

Interview you read in a magazine or newspaper

Citation examples:

Lansbury, Angela. "The Grand Woman of Mystery Reveals Her Own Mysteries." People, 15 June 2002, pp. 52-55.

Gordimer, Nadine. "Novelist Speaks of Life, Love, Travels." New York Times, 10 Oct. 1991, late ed., p. C25. 

Interview that you conducted

1) Name of the person interviewed
2) The kind of interview (personal interview, telephone interview)
3) Date you conducted the interview

Citation examples:

Smith, Will. Personal interview. 22 July 2003.

 

WEB (EXCLUDING DATABASES)

Crowe, Liam. “Introducing a New Dog to Your Household Pack.” SPCA International, 9 June 2014,

www.spcai.org/get-involved/animal-advice/introducing -new-dog-your-household-pack/.

 

Cuddy, Amy. “Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are” Ted Talks, 1 Oct. 2012. YouTube,

    youtu.be/5c3gzYOsp8Y.

 

National Center for Education Statistics. New Americans in Postsecondary

Education: A Profile of Immigrant and Second-Generation American

Undergraduates, United States Department of Education, 

nces.ed.gov/pubs2012/2012213.pdf. Accessed 27 July 2016. 

 

 

ONLINE VIDEOS

Video from a library database

Aftershock: The Hunt for Gravitational Waves. BBC,  2015.  Films on Demand, 
 
        //0-fod.infobase.com.library2.pima.edu/portalplaylists.aspx?wid=102587&xtid=95032.
   
 
Online video
jdtravers (John Travers). "iPad in Schools." 12 Apr. 2010. YouTube, uploaded by Mike Smith, 28 June. 2012,