Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 214 - West - Abnormal Psychology: Find Articles

Abnormal Psychology

Scholarly vs Non-Scholarly Resources

Your instructor may ask you to use only scholarly resources for your paper.

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources include books and articles published in scholarly journals, encyclopedias, and books.  These sources are reviewed by a panel of experts in that particular field, and are often published by a professional association or a university press.  These experts ensure the information published is credible before accepting it for publication.

More information:

Non-Scholarly sources include websites, magazines, newspapers, and books that undergo no expert review prior to publishing.

Check with your instructor if you plan to use non-scholarly sources and use the CRAAP test to evaluate them.

Still Can't Find Enough Articles? 2 Tips

Since doing research is a little like shopping, you can borrow two simple techniques from the real world for improving your results:

  1. Try other Key Words by using synonyms or related terms (in the real world, this is like looking in a different part of the store).  See the "Using Key Words in Your Search" section of the Finding Background Information tab for examples.  Also, sometimes a database will have a Thesaurus link to give you more terms; look for it at the top of the page.
  2. Try looking in another database (in the real world, this is like shopping in another store).

Seriously, these two tips go a long way.  Still stumped?  Ask a librarian for help.

Use PCC's Databases to Find Journal Articles

Displayed below are possible subject database categories for finding articles on Abnormal Psychology topics.  Be sure to click on the "Go" button:

List of Recommended Databases by Name:

A typical Advanced Search screen in a Database:

Advanced Search screen

 

Or, to search multiple databases at the same time, try the Advanced Search mode in MEGASearch:

 

Can you spot the NOT-Scholarly Journal?

Some of the hallmarks of a scholarly journal are:

  • Looks boring!
  • No Kardashians on the cover!
  • No sexy people on the cover!
  • No PEOPLE on the cover, even!
  • No articles about sculpting your abs or buttocks!
  • No or few colorful ads!
  • Will never see for sale at the grocery store!
  • Really expensive!
  • Articles are often long! 
  • Articles have long titles with big words!
  • Articles have multiple authors!
  • Articles contain statistical tables!
  • They're meant to inform & educate, not sell!
  • All of this means QUALITY you can trust!
  • I'm tired of shouting!