Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Write a Research Paper: Annotated Bibliographies

Information for gathering components of a research paper. Use the tabs below to find information on: 1. Selecting of a Topic, 2. Types of Information Sources, 3. Locating Information, 4. Searching the Web, 5. Evaluating Sources, and 6. Citation

Four Basic Parts in an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

 

Here's what you need to do for the annotated bibliography assignment: Using Pima’s online databases, find ten sources related to your major. Write a paragraph-long annotation for each source. Your annotations should provide information about the content of each source and explain how each source will help you in your career/major search. Make sure that your sources are listed in alphabetical order. Put spaces between sources. Use MLA guidelines. 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of works (books, articles, films, etc.) on a particular topic. An annotated bibliography includes a paragraph following each citation that summarizes the work. An annotation can help the reader determine the value of each work on the topic and the contribution it might make to his own research. Two common types of annotated bibliographies are descriptive and critical.

What is the purpose of an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography shows that the author has understood the sources used during their research on a topic and gives the reader enough information to decide whether they should read the specific work.

 

Annotated Bibliographies