Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Write a Research Paper: 3. Locating Sources & Information

Information for gathering components of a research paper. Use the tabs below to find information on: 1. Selecting of a Topic, 2. Types of Information Sources, 3. Locating Information, 4. Searching the Web, 5. Evaluating Sources, and 6. Citation

Types of Sources

There are a variety of resources that you can consult. Make sure to double check the requirements of your paper so make sure you search for the right types. 

                                                             

                                                                This tutorial teaches you what types of resources you may use for your research.

 

Databases

Find articles, eBooks, videos, and more from a single search box:


  

Basic Search    |    Advanced Search

Or browse databases by a specific :

 

Reference Books/Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias can be a great starting place -- they give you facts and provide an overview of a topic. They also list books, journal articles, and other sources where you can get more in-depth information.

Search for background information in 100+ encyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Reference Library:

  

eBooks

Some students may wish to use electronic books (ebooks) in their research.  Use the search window below to locate ebooks.  They can be be read entirely online or downloaded to your PC, laptop, tablet or notebook.  For most of these ebooks, you'll need a login id and password. Click here for more info. 

 

Search the Library Catalog

    

 

Tips for searching the catalog:

  • USE simple words or phrases, like "attachment theory" or "aging" or "social development".
  • AVOID typing in long phrases or questions. (See what happens when you type in "How do children develop?")
  • Limit your search to electronic books by clicking .
  • Scroll down and select E-BOOK from the Material Type box.

Streaming Video

AVON Recommended database Comprehensive video subscription.
Films on Demand Recommended database Online videos on a variety of topics.
Kanopy Recommended database Online videos and documentaries.
Teaching Channel Educational Teaching Videos.
Swank Streaming Media Online videos on a variety of topics.