Controversial Issues
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.
- Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window Offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
- Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
MegaSearch
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window Search dozens of databases and the library catalog. Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop criticalthinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Searching Megasearch
Open this database: MegaSearch
How to search
- Click Advanced Search. (Under the search box).
- In the top box, enter keywords for Walmart
- Now add a FOCUS concept (in the 2nd search box).
- This gives you 25,000 articles.
- Now filter this search to only the MAGAZINES.
- In the left margin, scroll down the the FORMAT section.
- Click Magazines.
General strategy
MegaSearch is, like Walmart, one-stop shopping.
- Search dozens of databases simultaneously
- Search the library catalog.
Today, you will focus on articles, especially Magazine articles.
Use the strategy below. It works for any of your topics.
**Note: for more locally flavored results, try adding the terms "Tucson" or Southern Arizona" to your searches.