It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRT 070 - West - Developmental Writing: Art Online - Nagy
We have organized our lists of museums by collection type. Favorite and popular topics include: Renaissance art, 19th century art museums, jewelry, textiles, folk art museums, maritime, aviation, American history, Asian history, 19th century history, archaeology museums, fossils, paleontology, natural history museums, dinosaurs, 17th century art, paintings, ornithology, and dozens of other art, history and science museum subjects
The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. We retain the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great 20th-century photographers—over fifty archives in all.
Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum’s collection is international in scope, includes both historic and contemporary design, and extends from one-of-a-kind to mass-produced items.
The collection encompasses the rich holdings of the Museum’s Library, Archives, and four curatorial departments: Product Design and Decorative Arts; Drawings, Prints, and Graphic Design; Textiles; and Wallcoverings. Designers seeking inspiration for new product lines draw ideas from the diversity of the collection.
With 100,000 objects dating from ancient times to the present, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) is the largest art museum in the western United States. A museum of international stature as well as a vital part of Southern California, LACMA shares its vast collections through exhibitions, public programs, and research facilities that attract nearly a million visitors annually.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is one of the world's largest and finest art museums. Its collections include more than two million works of art spanning five thousand years of world culture, from prehistory to the present and from every part of the globe.
The Museum of Arts and Design collects, displays, and interprets objects that document contemporary and historic innovation in craft, art, and design. In its exhibitions and educational programs, the Museum celebrates the creative process through which materials are crafted into works that enhance contemporary life.
The Cloisters, the branch of The Metropolitan Museum of Art devoted to the art and architecture of medieval Europe, was assembled from architectural elements, both domestic and religious, that date from the twelfth through the fifteenth century. The building and its cloistered gardens—located in Fort Tryon Park in Northern Manhattan—are treasures in themselves, effectively part of the collection housed there. The Cloisters collection comprises approximately three thousand works of art from medieval Europe, dating from about the ninth to the sixteenth century.
The Musée du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight departments, displayed in over 60,000 square meters of exhibition space dedicated to the permanent collections. Explore the works on display, taking a thematic or cross-departmental approach.
The V&A is the greatest museum of art and design, a world treasure house with collections of fabulous scope and diversity. The Museum holds over 3,000 years worth of artefacts from many of the world's richest cultures. Choose one of the collections below to explore in detail, or use our award-winning search of over 1,000,000 works.