Environmental Issues - WRT 070 - West - Developmental Writing - Research Guides at Pima Community College

Environmental Issues Research

Step 1: Find a topic...

Hot Topics and Current Issues

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window

Step 2: Find background information about your topic. For this assignment your best choices are:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
A general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window

Step 3: Use the online article databases (below) to find recent articles about your topic.

Article Databases for Environmental Research:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.

Search tips:

Try improving your search results by...
- Placing exact phrases in quotes: Ex: "endangered species"
- Searching multiple terms at the same time: Ex: "endangered species" AND "global warming"
- Using the Subject (Thesaurus Terms) from your initial search results to narrow and focus your next search results

Search tips:

If the resulting articles seem too complicated, use the "Narrow Results by - Source Types" option at left, and select "Magazines"

Search tips:

Within your initial search results, refine your search by using the "Suggested Topics" or by "Source Type" (scholarly journals, magazines, etc.)

Newspaper Databases

Arizona Daily Star: Current week's articles

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
"Collection of digitized news content, spanning the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage of important (and sometimes forgotten) people, places and events dating back to the 1700s." -ProQuest