Identifying Nonprofits
- Guidestar.orgdatabase of 2 million nonprofit organizations. Register for free to get the most information out of this database.
- idealist.organ interactive site for exploring community resources & nonprofits
- IRS's "Search for Charities" pagean online, searchable list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions
Find a Nonprofit's Homepage
Search Google to locate your nonprofit organization's homepage.
From the homepage, you can research organization history, programs, news, and contact information.
Find News about a Nonprofit
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window"Collection of digitized news content, spanning the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage of important (and sometimes forgotten) people, places and events dating back to the 1700s." -ProQuest
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowarticles from Popular magazines, scholarly journals, and more
- Tucson Weeklyhome of a local newspaper, includes free access to all archives
Find Nonprofit Financials
- Guidestar.orgsearchable database of over 2 million nonprofits & charities, including information on programs and finances of some; links to the IRS Form 990 for financial information
Charity Poll
A 2009 survey found 90% of Americans planned to donate money over the holiday season.
Have you donated to a charity, nonprofit, or disaster fund in the last 2 years?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0
Citation Tools
Use at your own risk and be sure to check your work!