Top Article Databases
You can use article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals.
When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password
Library Databases Related to Music: Databases that provide access to journal/magazine articles in the arts are:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Database Tips
Tips for Using Databases
Features: You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Limiters: After your initial search, you may be able to limit your results by topc by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS or DESCRIPTORS.
Cite: Many of the library databases include MLA citations. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the MLA citation into your Works Cited page! (Although you should always look them over to make sure they are correct.)
Print Journals
Online Journals
Click on the links below to access full-text articles online.
-
Billboard
The international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews.
-
Popular Music and Society
Research articles and reviews for a general readership about popular music, culture, and sociology.
-
General Music Today
Contains articles on emerging trends, effective teaching ideas, & new material for teaching general music at all levels.