Get Started with Reference Resources
Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources. Some reference resources will be available in print at the library. Other reference resources are available electronically. This page will guide you with both types of reference resources.
NAXOS Music Library
- NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming classical, jazz, blues, and world music. (Limited to 10 users at a time.)
Online Reference Resources a Pima College
Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowSpecialized encyclopedias and dictionaries on the arts include: American Folk Songs: a Regional Encyclopedia, 2008 ; Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, 2001 ; Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990, 2004 ; Music in the Middle Ages: a Reference Guide, 2008 ; Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century, 2009.
- Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Oxford reference books in the Performing Arts
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowFor biographical information on better known composers and musical artists, contains biographies and obituaries
Books at Pima
Jazz age JosephineISBN: 9781416961239
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture
Hip hop around the world : an encyclopedia
Hip Hop Around the World by
This set covers all aspects of international hip hop as expressed through music, art, fashion, dance, and political activity.Hip hop music has gone from being a marginalized genre in the late 1980s to the predominant style of music in America, the UK, Nigeria, South Africa, and other countries around the world. Hip Hop around the World includes more than 450 entries on global hip hop culture as it includes music, art, fashion, dance, social and cultural movements, organizations, and styles of hip hop. Virtually every country is represented in the text. Most of the entries focus on music styles and notable musicians and are unique in that they discuss the sound of various hip hop styles and musical artists' lyrical content, vocal delivery, vocal ranges, and more. Many additional entries deal with dance styles, such as breakdancing or b-boying/b-girling, popping/locking, clowning, and krumping, and cultural movements, such as black nationalism, Nation of Islam, Five Percent Nation, and Universal Zulu Nation. Country entries take into account politics, history, language, authenticity, and personal and community identification. Special care is taken to draw relationships between people and entities such as mentor-apprentice, producer-musician, and more.
Call Number: ML102.R27 H56 2019ISBN: 9780313357589Publication Date: 2018-12-01
