Art: Websites

The art history index of famous artists leads to imagery and indepth information such as biographies to over 22,000 artists. Over 200,000 images from museums are directly accessible via this wealth of art historical information database. Direct links to images in museum collections, links to indepth art news, general links as well as the best collection of search engine results have been compiled for over 22,000 artists.

Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. The main mode of searching within the site, and the main way that web surfers find their way to us, is a search on an artist's name. Traditional artists are well-represented. Contemporary artists are sparsely represented. We normally take our cue from museum curators worldwide. If they are collecting and showing an artist's work, that's a signal to us that the artist has significance.

"Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering and collecting art. Our growing collection comprises 50,000+ artworks by 11,000+ artists from leading galleries, museums, foundations, and artists’ estates. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.
Powered by The Art Genome Project—a way of providing pathways for discovery for experts and non-experts alike—Artsy hopes to foster new generations of art lovers, museum-goers, collectors, and patrons. We are honored to partner with 500+ leading galleries, as well as 100+ museums and foundations."

"BOMB Magazine delivers the artist’s voice through in-depth interviews between artists working across genre and media—collaborations that reveal their ideas, concerns, and creative processes through carefully developed dialogue—now and for posterity."

"BOMB Magazine was launched in 1981 because its founders saw a disparity between the way artists talked about their work among themselves and the way it was described by critics. As a result, BOMB reinvented the question-and-answer format, developing an editorial method that delves deep into theory and practice, allowing complex discussions to emerge."

An artist's blog, Booooooom was created in hopes of fostering a community of people excited to go out and be creative. One of the largest blogs on the internet, with over 3.2 million pageviews each month, and readers from all over the world.

deviantART was created to entertain, inspire, and empower the artist in all of us. Founded in August 2000, deviantART is the largest online social network for artists and art enthusiasts with over 13 million registered members, attracting 35 million unique visitors per month.
As a community destination, deviantART is a platform that allows emerging and established artists to exhibit, promote, and share their works within a peer community dedicated to the arts. The site's vibrant social network environment receives over 100,000 daily uploads of original art works ranging from traditional media, such as painting and sculpture, to digital art, pixel art, films and anime.

Moving at the Speed of Creativity is Wesley Fryer's blog. "I use this site to digitally document my own journey of learning and collaborate with other educators and lifelong learners around the globe. I focus primarily on issues related to engaged learning, web 2.0 technologies, digital storytelling, educational leadership, literacy, blended learning, creativity, appropriate uses of educational technologies, digital citizenship, and educational transformation."

Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects. First launched in 2000, the Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day. The Museum's curators, conservators, and educators research and write the Timeline, that continues to expand in scope and depth and reflect the most up-to-date scholarship. For more information see: http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/intro/atr/atr.htm

From urban design and subversive art to stunning architecture, our authors scour the net to find the most creative, innovative and engaging works of art and design in the world. Each article contains as many relevant images and links as possible, part of an attempt to be exhaustive, responsible and informative as possible within any given subject area.