Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: ART 100 - Shinn

This guide provides general information resources for the study of art.

The Kiss - Gustav Klimt

Gustav Klimt. The Kiss, detail. 1907-1908. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/LESSING_ART_ 1039490497

The Kiss - Roy Lichtenstein

Lichtenstein, Roy. The Kiss. 1962. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/LICHTENSTEIN_10313550865

ART 100 (Shinn) Research Strategy

  1. Select your artwork(s)/artist. Go to the the Images & Multimedia tab (above.)  Find the ARTSTOR database.  You will want to view the tutorials on that page for creating a personal ARTSTOR account (which is necessary to save and export images), and for searching ARTSTOR efficiently.  When you have your search results, click on the images of interest to open them. Save or download images of interest and their citations in MLA style, which is available when you open the image.  Each image has data associated with it. Scan the data to see if there's useful content, particularly regarding the materials the artist used to create the work.  ARTSTOR has an option to export your saved images to PowerPoint; there is a tutorial for learning how to do that on the same page as the database.  Note that if you cannot find the image(s) you want in ARTSTOR (more contemporary artists may be less-well represented), you may search for them in museum collections and the alternative image sources, many of which are linked on the same tab as above (Images & Multimedia)
  2. Go to the "Get Started" tab, above.  Select the various E-Reference Resources databases to find your artist's biography, and the history of the era in which s/he lived.  Email useful articles to yourself.  (Opt to send each article with a citation formatted in MLA style.)
  3. On the "Get Started" tab, select the Oxford Art Online database and do a search on your artist.  If their biography associates them with a particular art movement, search for an article that discusses that art movement.  Email useful articles to yourself with a citation in MLA style.
  4. Scroll down the "Get Started" page to find links to two articles and a short video about doing a formal analysis of art using "the principles of design" and the "elements of art."  Determine which are relevant for discussing your artwork.
  5. Go to the "Find Articles" tab.  Do a search on your artist plus the name of the artwork you chose.  (For example:  "Gustav Klimt" and "The Kiss")  If there is an article in the database containing both search terms, it will appear in your search results.  If not, search only your artist's name, review the search results, and look for a useful article on your artist that simply discusses his/her work and style.  Try multiple databases.  Email useful articles to yourself with a citation in MLA style.
  6. Take notes from your resources and synthesize what you've learned for your presentation.
  7. Use the "Write & Cite" tab to compile citations in a MLA-format Works Cited sheet.