Online Reference Books for the Health Professions
Navigate these Online Reference books using their Tables of Contents.
Dental
Encyclopedia of Medical Terminology by Publication Date: 2020
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by Publication Date: 2018The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more.
Woelfel's Dental Anatomy, Enhanced Edition with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by Publication Date: 2017The book's detailed coverage of dental anatomy and terminology prepares students for success on national board exams, while up-to-date information on the application of tooth morphology to dental practice prepares them for success in their future careers.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by Publication Date: 2013Designed for use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Dictionary includes more than 10,000 terms and 300 full-color illustrations. Definitions include all areas of dentistry, basic, clinical and behavioral sciences, terms related to office management, and commonly used medical terms.
Nursing
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Publication Date: 2020
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Publication Date: 2019Provides an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand. Focuses on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test. Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate. Explanations of the reasons for the test result.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Publication Date: 2013In the fully updated third edition of this award-winning title, more than 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by Publication Date: 2019Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA.
Radiographic Technology
Nuclear Medicine Imaging: an Encyclopedic Dictionary by Publication Date: 2012
A-Z of Abdominal Radiology by Publication Date: 2009A-Z of Abdominal Radiology provides a concise, easily accessible radiological guide to the imaging of the common disorders of the abdomen and pelvis. Organised by A-Z, each entry gives easy access to the key clinical features of the condition.
A-Z of Musculoskeletal and Trauma Radiology by Publication Date: 2008A-Z of Musculoskeletal and Trauma Radiology is an invaluable reference to the key aspects of imaging for all conditions of bones, muscles, tendons and ligaments. It provides the clinician with practical guidance on the key presenting characteristics, clinical features, diagnosis and management.
MRI from A to Z by Publication Date: 2005This concise but comprehensive guide provides an effective and practical introduction to the full range of this terminology. It will be an invaluable source of reference for all students, trainees and medical professionals working with MRI. More than 800 terms commonly encountered in MR Imaging and Spectroscopy are clearly defined, explained and cross-referenced.
Respiratory Therapy
ERS Handbook of Respiratory Medicine by Publication Date: 2019
Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases by Publication Date: 2019Written for the undergraduate Respiratory Therapy student, Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases provide a comprehensive learning system centered on the essentials of respiratory disorders.
Respiratory Notes by Publication Date: 2012Bullet-point reviews guide you through procedures. Quick-scan illustrations and tables summarize data.
What is a reference source?
A reference source is a publication or database designed to familiarize a non-expert with an unfamiliar topic. Examples include:
- Encyclopedias (overviews with essential background)
- Dictionaries
- Atlases
- Directories (how to locate people or organizations)
- Handbooks
- Almanacs
Use the Gale Database to Search Across Hundreds of Reference Sources
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowGale contains digital versions of reference books and will search all of them at once!
Example Reference Source from the Gale database
