Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRT 101 - M. Young: Online Articles and More

Learn how to identify appropriate articles and evaluate them
Longform Journalism is simply a long essay. An article that is normally is between 1,000 and 5,000 words. In a magazine you would be looking for an article from 3 to 10 pages. Below are some magazines on the web that contain longform articles. 

ProPublica

The Mission of ProPublica
To expose abuses of power and betrayals of the public trust by government, business, and other institutions, using the moral force of investigative journalism to spur reform through the sustained spotlighting of wrongdoing.

Longreads

"Longreads has been nominated for four National Magazine Awards and has been cited for digital excellence by the Online News Association and Peabody Awards. Our stories have been featured in the Best American anthology series, and our series “Bundyville,” with Leah Sottile and
Oregon Public Broadcasting, was named one
of the best podcasts of 2018 and won an
Edward R. Murrow Award in 2020."

New York Times (via PCC Database)

Image result for New york times

Open this library database.

 

 

Speeches

Resources from the Internet (Not PCC Library Affiliated)

July 15, 1979: "Crisis of Confidence" Speech | Miller Center

Presidential Speeches and More!

Online Speech Bank - American Rhetoric

Online Speech Bank

100+ Best Social Studies-PLN images | social studies, social studies  elementary, study websites

A searchable archive of politically significant audio materials. Both audio files and transcripts are available.

Secondary

Secondary sources are accounts written "after the fact" and with the benefit of hindsight (greater understanding of the incident).  They are normally interpretions and evaluations of primary sources. Secondary sources are not evidence, since they provide commentary on and discussion of the evidence. 

  • Bibliographies
  • Biographical works
  • Reference books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and atlases
  • Articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers after the event
  • Literature reviews and review articles (e.g., movie reviews, book reviews)
  • History books and other popular or scholarly books
  • Works of criticism and interpretation
  • Commentaries and treatises
  • Textbooks
  • Indexes and abstracts

From: "Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources." Univeristy of Maryland, Univeristy Libraries. 1 March 2013. Web. 3 October, 2013.

Longform

The site gathers together the best nonfiction stories from across the web. It also provides incredible podcasts. A great place to start! It is searchable and includes a wide-range of diverse topics. You can find is all from sports to sex to crime and social issues.

The Atlantic

WHO WE ARE
"As we reflect on our past and look toward the future—in a world where ideologically narrow or simple answers are less adequate, and can even be more destructive, than ever—we decided to put to words a handful of ideas we thought represented authentic guiding commitments for us and to our audience."

National Geographic

Primary

Primary sources are original materials. They are from the time period involved and have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation. 

Examples:

  • Artifacts (e.g. coins, plant specimens, fossils, furniture, tools, clothing, all from the time under study);
  • Audio recordings (e.g. radio programs);
  • Internet communication on email, twitter, social media, etc.;
  • Interviews (e.g., oral histories, telephone, e-mail);
  • Journal articles published in peer-reviewed publications;
  • Letters;
  • Newspaper articles written at the time;
  • Original Documents (i.e. birth certificate, will, marriage license, trial transcript);
  • Proceedings of Meetings, conferences and symposia;
  • Records of organizations, government agencies (e.g. annual report, treaty, constitution, government document);
  • Survey Research (e.g., market surveys, public opinion polls);
  • Video recordings (e.g. television programs);

From: "Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources." Univeristy of Maryland, Univeristy Libraries. 1 March 2013. Web. 3 October, 2013.

Comparison: Primary vs Secondary