Databases
To access library databases you need to be a current Pima student, faculty, or staff and will need to use your MyPima username and password to sign in.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowA large searchable database which provides information on such topics as history, biography, literature, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, and religion. The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture providing rock-solid information from authorities in the field and allowing African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 300 titles, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day. Includes primary sources such as speeches, court case and manuscripts, interviews, audio clips, images, and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
- Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowSupports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
- Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window"Coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship."
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowAn online database that explores opposing sides of the most important issues, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Scholarly Articles
To access the scholarly articles you need to be a current Pima student, faculty, or staff and will need to use your MyPima username and password to sign in.
- Viewpoint: 'When black lives matter all lives will matter' - A teacher and three students discuss the BLM movement.The Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement is generating a new appetite for understanding the ubiquity of systemic racism. In this short piece, a professor and three newly graduated students from different racialized groups reflect on the reproduction of social inequalities in key institutions and on what decolonization means for the nation, not just for education. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
- Beyond 'solidarity' with Black Lives Matter: Drawing on liberation psychology and transformative justice to address institutional and community violence in young Black livesThe authors, a Systemic Therapist (Author 1) and a young activist (Author 2), call for an approach that draws on Liberation Psychology and Transformative Justice to address pervasive racism in society, beyond statements of solidarity with Back Lives Matter. This requires addressing the impact on Black communities of the criminal legal (or criminal INjustice) system, 'perpetual community trauma' and grief, multiple forms of social disadvantage and exclusion and the relationship between these forms of racial trauma and serious youth violence. Rather than going back to business as usual once the current focus on Black Lives Matter dissipates, such as calls for more police, more prisons and more exclusion, the authors suggest that we work against the grain and envision alternative systems based on community‐based responses to trauma and oppression with mental health practitioners and community activists working together. Practitioner pointsDrawing on Liberation Psychology can enable us to go to the root of problems and directly challenge oppressionLiberation Psychology advocates for (1) explicitly naming oppression, (2) reconnecting to a collective history of resistance and solidarity and (3) drawing on peoples' creativityRadical change requires radical thinkers who can imagine alternative social systems based not on punishment and oppression but on Healing, Restorative and Transformative Justice [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
- Supporting the Message, Not the Messenger: The Correlates of Attitudes towards Black Lives MatterSince the Black Lives Matter movement's rise to prominence, there has been significant opposition from both media and political figures who believe that the movement is promoting a "war on cops." Because there is no evidence to support this claim, the current study examines the basis for negative attitudes towards Black Lives Matter using a sample of over 500 undergraduate students from a large Midwestern university. The findings indicate that the strongest predictors of negative attitudes towards Black Lives Matter are being white and holding symbolically racist attitudes. Perceiving the police to be equivalent to soldiers in a war on crime, perceiving police misconduct to be less common, and holding a conservative crime ideology are also significant in the model. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]