Off-Campus Resources: Databases, eBooks, Magazines, Streaming Video
Many resources are provided online by the Library such as databases, e-Books, streaming video and more. Current PCC students, faculty and staff can access these resources by logging into your MyPima account and selecting the Library option. Due to license agreement limitations, remote access to most of these resources is limited to PCC faculty students and staff.
For more tutorials on how to access and use the PCC Library from off-campus, please select here to visit our Tutorials page.
Databases
To browse library databases:
-
Go to the Library homepage and click on the Articles & Databases box. Browse all databases by clicking on Databases by subject or title.
-
To browse databases by subject (see example below), click on the dropdown arrow next to All Subjects to see a list of all the database subject areas.
Streaming Video
eBooks
Some students may wish to use electronic books (ebooks) in their research. Use the search window below to locate ebooks. They can be be read entirely online or downloaded to your PC, laptop, tablet or notebook. For most of these ebooks, you'll need your PCC login id and password.
Search the Library Catalog
Tips for searching the catalog:
- USE simple words or phrases, like "attachment theory" or "aging" or "social development".
- AVOID typing in long phrases or questions. (See what happens when you type in "How do children develop?")
- Limit your search to electronic books by clicking
. - Scroll down and select E-BOOK from the Material Type box.
Online Magazines
Additional eBook resources
The following resources are available for free to anyone with Internet access.
-
Bartleby.com: Includes quotes, poems, novels, classics, and reference works. Titles include Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy, and full-text search of the Holy Bible.
-
Google Books: Has book previews and full views of select books. Search for a topic and use the Advanced Search to limit to titles with "Full View Only".
-
Librivox: Free audiobooks in the public domain available for download.
-
Project Gutenberg: Download over 33,000 free e-books to be read on your PC, portable e-book readers, and other devices.