Speak Out!
Shepard Fairey. Big Brother Is Watching You. 2019. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/27081924
Banksy. [graffiti]. 2008. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/LARRY_QUALLS_10313554475
Hernandez, Ester, 1944-. Sun Mad. 1982. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001159399
Background Research
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- U.S. Census BureauThe Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Data features quantifiable data points on subjects such as economics, health, disease, religion, etc.
- Center for Disease Control (CDC)CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
- World Health OrganizationWHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable.
Goya
Francisco Goya y Lucientes, 1746-1828, European; Iberian; Spanish. Con razon ó sin ella. (Rightly or Wrongly); Fatales consequencias de la sangrienta guerra en España con Buonaparte. Y otros caprichos enfaticos [Disasters of War], plate 2.. Drawn and etched about 1810-1814; whole series first published posthumously 1863. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_BOSTON_103837506
Controversial Issues Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Newspaper & News Magazines
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
Is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device
Article Databases
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals from a range of medical disciplines.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth-related articles written for everyday people.
Protect the Sacred
Shepard Fairey; Aaron Huey. Protect The Sacred. 2018. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/24679389
Fake News
(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/32/How_to_Spot_Fake_News.jpg)
Evaluating Information Resources
The CRAP Test, developed by Molly Beestrum, is a helpful tool to use when trying to decide if a website is a credible, valid source.
Currency
- How recent is the information?
- How recently has the website been updated?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
Reliability
- What kind of information is included in the resource?
- Is content of the resource primarily opinion? If so, is balanced? That is, does it fairly present both sides of the argument?
- Does the creator provide trustworthy references or sources for data or quotations?
Authority
- Who is the creator or author?
- What are the credentials? Can you find any information about the author's background? If so, does their background (experience, education) suggest they are qualified to write intelligently and fairly on this topic?
- Who is the published or sponsor?
- Are they reputable? Are they known for having a bias or agenda?
- What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information? What might they stand to gain if you are persuaded to agree with their point of view, if any? What might they stand to lose? (Politically? Ideologically? Economically?)
- Are there advertisements on the website? If so, are they clearly marked?
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion? Does the author list trustworthy sources or cite references that supports any claims made?
- Is it biased? Does the author seem to be trying to push an agenda or particular side? Is the language used to play on your emotions? Are conclusions drawn based on fact and irrefutable evidence , or on opinion / wishful thinking?
- Is the creator/author trying to "sell" you something - an idea or a product? If so, is it clearly stated?