Skip to main content

WRT 101 - East (Gousseva) Writing I: Welcome

Writing and research for Careers annotated bibliography and paper

Other Library Guides

Welcome!

Welcome to a PCC Library guide for researching and writing.

This guide is intended as a starting place for Julia Gousseva's WRT 101 class.

The above tabs are arranged to guide you through the steps of the research process.  They will lead you to research tools, journal articles, and library materials, as well as additional links to help you to write your paper and cite your sources.

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact your freindly neighborhood Library.

Careers Annotated Bibliography and Research Essay

Annotated Bibliography Assignment


Here's what you need to do for the annotated bibliography assignment: Using Pima’s online databases, find ten sources related to your major. Write a paragraph-long annotation for each source. Your annotations should provide information about the content of each source and explain how each source will help you in your career/major search. Make sure that your sources are listed in alphabetical order. Put spaces between sources. Use MLA guidelines. 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of works (books, articles, films, etc.) on a particular topic. An annotated bibliography includes a paragraph following each citation that summarizes the work. An annotation can help the reader determine the value of each work on the topic and the contribution it might make to his own research. Two common types of annotated bibliographies are descriptive and critical.

What is the purpose of an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography shows that the author has understood the sources used during their research on a topic and gives the reader enough information to decide whether they should read the specific work.

The Career Essay

The goal of the Occupations/Careers Essay assignment is to help you learn more about your future career. See Module 11 (in Blackboard) for details on the options you can choose for this essay.